Trying Something New

Tonight was an adventure for both myself and my husband. Corey had said last week that he wanted to try something new at least once a week. This conversation started when he informed me that he wanted our (future) kids to eat healthy. He wants them to eat fruits and veggies, he doesn’t want them to drink soda hardly ever, etc. I had to raise my eyebrows at this. Really? This coming from a man who eats chocolate pop tarts every day and says they contain 7 essential vitamins and minerals? This coming from the man who thinks mashed potatoes and macaroni and cheese is an appropriate meal? (And he actually eats those things when I am not here.)

I think that when you have kids, they pretty much follow by example. And I think he has finally realized that it may be hard for me to get the kids to eat their broccoli if he refuses to eat it (regardless of the fact that I may be eating it). So he has decided to broaden his horizons, albeit kicking and screaming. :)

The first thing that I suggested was . . . a rutabega. I had never, ever tried one before either. Maybe I could have suggested something a little more wimpy tame for him to try. But there was a recipe for Rutabega Fries that I found on another blog that I read on a regular basis and I was dying to try it. Thanks Julie for the idea!

the star of dinner - scary looking!

We basically just cooked them like we would a potato. You peel it and chop it like fries. Then put some spices on it. We have “baked fries” that we make on a regular basis (like tonight) and we just put the same spices on it as the potato. We put some red pepper and paprika on it, tossed it with a little olive oil and cooked it for about 20 minutes or so.

Final product!

As I am never one to shy away from tasting new items, I didn’t hesitate to grab one, dip it in some ketchup like a regular fry and try it. And . . . it wasn’t horrible. The spices covered up (most) of the rutabega taste.

I should have taken a picture of Corey’s reaction. For some reason, he didn’t want to put ketchup on it because he didn’t want to “mask the flavor.” I’m not sure he realizes that it is important to do what you have to do to vegetables so that they taste good. He was immediately turned off by the smell (which I barely noticed). He said that they “smell like throw up.” Honestly, my husband can be very melodramatic. But he did take a bite and then he proceeded to spit it out. Nope, he did not like it at all.

I ate some of it, not all. I think I still have to get used to the taste. I read somewhere that a person (on average) needs to eat something at least seven times to develop a taste for it. And I firmly believe that. So I will be having that again. As for whether Corey will try it a second time . . . that’s another story.

I think the next thing he tries will be something a little easier to handle. Grapes maybe??

Nature's Candy

After dinner, Corey and I did try to go for a run. However, I became sick with what I like to call “runner’s upset stomach” and we had to turn around. We only managed to do 1.75 miles instead of the 2.5 miles that I wanted. At least I got some exercise, even if it was walking instead of running.

2 responses to “Trying Something New

  1. peanutbutterfingers

    oh that poor boy. those things NEED ketchup!!! :D

  2. Pingback: Goals for 2011 |

Leave a Reply

