Cookbook Fanatic

Before we get to the title of this post (cookbooks!!), I’ll say a little about today’s meals and give a very easy recipe for egg salad. This morning when I woke up, I didn’t know whether I was hungry or nauseous. Is anyone familiar with that feeling? I knew I needed to eat something, but there was no way I was going to be able to eat my granola and peach parfait that I wanted to. So I decided on my favorite food: tomato soup. Sometimes lunch is okay for breakfast right? And I got a serving of veggies in as well so it’s all good.

For lunch, it was so tough to decide because seriously we were running out of food. Good thing we were scheduled for a grocery run today. We needed one STAT! I decided on an easy dish of egg salad. I know a lot of people make their egg salads differently and sometimes it can be fatty with all the eggs and mayo. I want a lot of food without all the calories. Is that too much to ask??

I actually take two hard boiled eggs and then one hard boiled egg white and mix those together. More bang for your buck if you take that third yolk out. I don’t use any mayo at all. I use dijonnaise. I like my egg salad tangy. Dijonnaise is a creamy combo of mayo and dijon mustard . . . and it has only 10 calories! It is super yummy! I have used this stuff in everything.

a watched pot never boils!

Egg Salad

2 hard boiled eggs
1 hard boiled egg white
1 tablespoon dijonnaise
chopped up celery/green pepper
salt and pepper to taste; pinch of cayenne pepper (optional)

Chop up hard boiled eggs and egg white. Mix in other ingredients very well. Serve with crackers, bread, or lettuce and enjoy!

In addition to the egg salad, I bought side salad at the grocery store and a fruit cup. Tasty and nutritious lunch!

I am such a cookbook fanatic. I love them. I have quite a few on my shelf. I have tried several recipes out of every one of them and sometimes I will go months without using one. But each one is precious to me.

I am always wary about buying cookbooks sight unseen online. Usually, if I am in a bookstore I will scan through it and if I see several recipes I want to try then I buy it. Online shopping is a bit tougher. That doesn’t stop me from doing it though. :)

Imagine my delight when I found a totally inexpensive way to check out some cookbooks before buying them: the public library! I had no idea they had cookbooks available to check out. I have already checked out one cookbook: Cooking Light: the 5 ingredient, 15 minute cookbook.Honestly, there were about 5 recipes I wanted to try in the whole book. Other than that, it wouldn’t be worth buying. Others may like it, but there were a lot of ingredients that I knew would have MSG in it and such. I guess the fewer ingredients, the more processed it gets.┬áToday, I got Vegan Cookies and Veganomicon: the Ultimate Vegan Cookbook. The latter one was recommended by Anne P. at Fannetastic Food.

I am, in no way vegan. I love meat and I love dairy. But I thought these books would have some interesting recipe ideas. And they do. So far, I have seen several things I would like to try. I’ll have to read up on them a little more to see if I will indeed buy them, but it does look promising. I feel like a kid on Christmas with two cookbooks! The funny thing is that Corey scoffed at me when he heard the title Vegan Cookies. And yet, there he was looking through it ten minutes later and he actually found a cookie recipe that he wanted us to try. :)

5 responses to “Cookbook Fanatic

  1. I had no idea you were in the ATL area. I saw that on HLB and was like “hey…I am too!” We had a meetup about a month back and I’m sure we’ll be having one again not too long from now.

    I want more cookbooks. I’m always wanting to try new things but don’t know where to start.

  2. Veganomicon is brilliant, I love it so much. Vegan cookies too. The recipes have made my meat and potatoes husband a believer.

    And I love the header too :)

  3. That book does look interesting!

    I just found your blog through Faith, Fitness, Fun blog. Feel free to check out my blog The Nutritionist Reviews too!

    Have a wonderful day!

  4. Pingback: Vacation’s Over |

Leave a Reply

