Lazy Sundays

First, I just want to say that I love my new header! My wonderfully, technologically savvy husband took some ideas that I had and did exactly what I wanted. I have no clue how to use Photoshop, so I didn’t know where to begin. I think he did an AWESOME job!

I always intend for Sundays to be much more productive than they are. But today was kind of a lazy one. Although I did get a lot of working out done.

My husband does enjoy making me breakfast, so this morning I had him make me some blueberry pancakes from a recipe that I saw on Health.com. The recipe is one that combines oats, cottage cheese, vanilla, and eggs . . . and blueberries, of course! The pancakes came out very moist and super tasty!

First, you mix some oats, cottage cheese, eggs, and vanilla in a blender.

Then stir in some blueberries . . .

Then you fry them up and this is the final product . . .

Of course I just had to fry up some bacon to go with them!

And no, I didn’t eat ALL the pancakes! I just thought they looked pretty this way. :) I will have some good leftovers a couple days this week for breakfast. That’s why I love pancake breakfasts!

Corey and I decided to go for a run right before lunch. We are actually trying to sell our house (we have been trying at that for quite a while now) and someone wanted to come see it today, so we had to go away for a while. We were planning a 4 mile run, but somewhere along the way I got a headache that was threatening to turn into a migraine. Maybe it was dehydration or the heat or something. So we had to cut the run in half. I’m hoping to go for a 4 mile run tomorrow. Long runs don’t have to be on the weekend, right?

The rest of the day was spent going to the Farmer’s Market, which was super crowded and where we spent a lot of our food budget on fruits and veggies. Everything looked so good though and I should have plenty of good snacks for the week.

Dinner was simple hamburger steaks with asparagus and mashed potatoes. Can you believe I never tried asparagus until a year ago? And I have never actually cooked it for myself. I have always been afraid to do that, afraid that I would screw it up. My dad gave me a kind of fool proof, tasty recipe. I pretty much just drizzled it with a little olive oil, sprinkled it with a little cajun seasoning and then tossed it around on a baking sheet to make sure it was evenly coated. Then, bake for 15-20 minutes and voila! Tasty asparagus. And it was super tasty. It’s not easy finding a vegetable that I like and that I can cook, but I like asparagus.

I even got Corey to try it as part of his trying something new.

Corey trying asparagus while making cupcakes

He said the taste was okay, but he wasn’t sure about the texture. I swear, whatever new thing he tries, it’s always a texture thing with him. Always.

And speaking of cupcakes, Corey has been craving cupcakes for over a week now. We had a box of cake mix in the cabinet and we bought a box if chocolate frosting over the weekend just so he could make them.

Apparently, I have a really hard time with the whole “balance” thingĀ . Before he started making them, I was telling him ways he could make them healthier (such as replace the oil with applesauce). He didn’t want any part of that. Then I told him the cake mix has trans fats in it, which raises your chances of heart attack by some outrageous number. I think I made up the number I actually told him. Seriously, what was I doing? I am supposed to believe in balance and giving in to your craving and the man has been craving a cupcake for over a week. Maybe I still have problems with eating foods that have always been on my “forbidden list.” I still feel guilty about it. My husband actually said to me, “You’re ruining cupcake day.” I just had to laugh at that and I stopped myself at that point and just let him have his fun. Let him have his cupcake. And I may have snuck one too.

Asparagus on one hand and chocolate batter on the other . . . that's what I call balance!

delicious, creamy cupcake

The day ended on a great note with a Jillian Michaels workout, followed by fifteen minutes on the elliptical. So all in all, it was a pretty good day. And maybe one of these days, I will work on the balance thing and the guilt that it produces.

3 responses to “Lazy Sundays

  1. It is so hard to break out of those types of thinking patterns. I always try to remember I’m more satisfied with a smaller portion of the quality stuff than the subs.

    And I love the new header! I want to update mine eventually too.

  2. The heat has been giving me terrible headaches while running. Good thinking on cutting it short!

  3. Pingback: Goals for 2011 |

Leave a Reply

