Apple Picking!

This is my favorite time of year.

Pumpkin . . . the leaves changing colors . . . and of course, apples! I have never picked my own apples before and I really wanted to do that this year. This was the perfect weekend for it.

After breakfast and a workout, Corey and I set out for some Subway, which we ate on the way to the apple orchard.

We ate our sandwiches on the way to the orchard and had a nice time chatting and spending some quality time together. After a while, I may or may not have fallen asleep. ;) What can I say? A moving vehicle puts me to sleep every time.

After a little over an hour, we were at a little apple house in Ellijay, GA.

We browsed the store a little when we first got there and there was so much to see!

bees making some fresh honey

fresh preserves

 

pumpkins!

Next, it was time to pick some apples. I was a little disappointed at first because they only had two varieties available for picking: Rome Black and Arkansas Beauty. I had no idea how either of those tasted. But was I going to let that stop me? Heck, no! :)

 

Enter the Rome Beauty orchard!

 

People had obviously picked a lot of apples before us. Pretty much the only ones left were the ones high in the trees . . . too high for us to reach. :(

 

too high!

 

But Corey (aka my hero) was going to do everything he could to make sure I got some apples! So he got the brilliant idea to climb the tree to get to them.

k

How cute is he? :)

The first apple of the bunch!

Of course, I had to “sample” the product . . .

The taste test result? Best apple ever!

Finally, I found an apple that was low enough for me to reach.

I don’t know what a peck is, but we got a half of one.

After picking some apples, Corey and I headed into the store to buy some fried goodness.

Before we went to the orchard, I thought I wanted an apple pie . . .

But then I saw the apple cider doughnuts and I just had to have a taste! But I may have bought a fried strawberry pie to eat for dessert later. ;)

Mmm . . . tasty doughnut goodness!

And I just had to wash the doughnut down with some fresh apple cider. So good!

It was an awesome day and I can’t wait to eat/bake with the apples that I bought today.

And after a long drive home (where I took a little nap), we came home to make a big pot of chili and catch up on some shows that were taking up space on the DVR.

Best chili ever! Maybe because we let it simmer for about an hour.

Don’t forget about dessert!

Love those pies!

Now I have to go catch up on some shows. I still don’t know who got kicked off Project Runway or who got fired on The Apprentice. :)

5 responses to “Apple Picking!

  1. Picking apples is my favorite thing to do in the fall -looks like you had a great time!

  2. I so badly hope we get a spare weekend to go up to Ellijay for apple picking too. Looks like fun!

  3. Oh how I love apple picking in the fall! I am a new follower of your blog!

    xo

  4. Pingback: Reunited, and it feels so good |

Leave a Reply

