Love your Body!

Today is National Love Your Body Day.

I may never have known that if Tina hadn’t pointed it out. When she asked how we would be loving our bodies today, I really had to think about that. It occurred to me that I thought several discouraging things about myself and the way I looked before I had even left the house. That was no way to celebrate or acknowledge this day.

So this is how I am choosing to love my body today.

1. I will not argue when my husband tells me I am beautiful.

2. I will not feel guilty for eating real maple syrup at breakfast instead of the fake, sugar-free stuff.

3. Nor will I feel guilty for cleaning my plate at lunch.

4. I will feed my body foods that nourish me and give me energy, rather than ones that make me crash a few hours later.

 

apple with some almond butter

 

5. I will not avoid mirrors.

6. I will not criticize myself or my appearance when I do look at myself in the mirror.

7.  I will not feel bad about eating carbs.

8. I will sweat and get in a good work out, not because I long to be thin, but because I know it will make my body healthy and strong.

9. I will bake a dessert that is made with real sugar and real butter. And no, I will not call myself fat because I eat more than one. Who can stop at just one pumpkin whoopie pie? ;)

Seriously, this is the best pumpkin dessert I have made yet. I got the recipe from Marg at Running on Cupcakes. Click on the link for the full recipe. They are phenomenal!

10. And finally . . . I will send my picture to Heather at Faces of Beauty. Enough procrastinating. It’s time to celebrate how beautiful I am!

How did you love your body today?

7 responses to “Love your Body!

  1. Wow those are all such great reminders!!! I’m definitely going to do #3 :)

  2. I can agree with so many of these!

    Thanks for the mention! Not my recipe, but they do taste so good!

  3. You are wonder woman! If we could all say those things to ourselves, we would be so much more confident and happy. Thanks for the reminder.

    Plan B

  4. This is such a good reminder!
    I loved feeling strong this morning in yoga sculpt class!

  5. Great post! I think it’s so important for us to remember why we love our bodies…they do so much for us :)

  6. I went for a massage, and I didn’t feel self conscious about it. My body works hard for me, and it is important to love and respect it and treat it with kindness :-)

  7. Pingback: Wish list |

Leave a Reply

