Cardio Boredom

I definitely enjoy strength training more than cardio.

Breakfast: more Pumpkin Pancakes with some maple syrup

This is kind of funny because there was a time when I never did any strength training. I focused entirely on cardio because I was trying to lose weight and I figured that was the best way to do it.

 

Lunch: more leftover Pizza Pot Pie with an unpictured spinach salad and homemade Italian vinaigrette

Now that I am focusing more on strength, I find that I actually enjoy my workouts. On strength days, I look forward to my workout. Maybe it’s because lifting weights makes me feel strong. Sometimes I swear my biceps have grown an inch after one workout. :)

Snack #1: Trader Joe’s Triple Gingersnaps

However, on my cardio days I dread my workout. I know that it’s because there is very little variety. I have no motivation to run when it’s this cold. The elliptical has begun to bore me because I have done it for so long. So I do workouts On Demand that don’t seem that difficult and I pretty much just chug along. I can tell while I am working out that I’m just not pushing myself. How can I achieve better endurance if I’m not pushing myself as I should. What do you do to combat exercise boredom?

Snack #2: half a whole wheat bagel with a little butter and honey

Today was a strength day and honestly, I was looking forward to it all day. I had plans to do Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred, as well as her Quick Trouble Zones workout. My triceps and biceps were still sore from Monday’s workout, but I wasn’t going to let that stop me.

Delicious hodge podge of items: baked chicken strips, brown rice, corn, baby peas, and generous amounts of ketchup and mustard

I am kind of obsessed with Jillian Michaels workouts lately. There is something about lifting weights that makes me feel powerful. And when I can increase my weight or increase the number of reps that I am supposed to do, I feel like I am actually making progress. Forget the number on the scale because my muscles are going to be huge! :)

Here’s a random question: is it expected to give a Christmas gift to your postal carrier or garbage worker? This is my second Christmas living with my husband. As I mentioned before, we didn’t do many Christmas traditions last year. So this is the first time I’ve ran into this question. I was contemplating baking them cookies, but then I wasn’t even sure of the logistics required to give my gift to the garbage worker. Is anyone else giving gifts to these individuals? Is it expected at all?

Now I must get ready for bed. I’m exhausted!

6 responses to “Cardio Boredom

  1. I love Jillian’s workouts! I combat exercise boredom by keeping my exercise DVD collection fresh–I try to update with a new DVD every 3 months or so. After a few years, I’ve built up quite the collection and it keeps things interesting and definitely helps avoid boredom.

    Hope you’re having a great day!

  2. Your meals look so good! Pumpkin pancakes, gingersnaps… can I live with you?!

    • Haha. Kate, you are more than welcome to live with me. My husband doesn’t appreciate my meals nearly as much as I do because he’s such a picky eater. It would be nice to hang out with someone who enjoys those things as much as I do! ;)

  3. I also love Jillian Michaels workouts! I think I’m gonna Shred-it up today! Have you done that video? Levels 2+3 are KILLER! Such a great workout for 20 mins!

  4. I go through phases where I really love strength training or I really love cardio. Actually I’m in a phase where I’m enjoying both at the same time…lately I’ve been doing workouts that incorporate both!

Leave a Reply

