Out with the Old

After all the sugar and junk food I consumed this weekend, I was determined to get back on track as soon as possible. And I believe I succeeded. :)

For breakfast, I created a deliciously filling (and nutritious) dish. I have been craving rice pudding for a while. I have talked before about the fact that I detest oatmeal. Most mornings I will eat eggs and bacon for breakfast. As much as I love that breakfast, it doesn’t fill me up for very long . . . plus, it can get boring after a while. So I decided to make a dish out of brown rice that was sure to be nutritious and filling.

Rice Pudding (serves 1)

1 cup cooked brown rice
3/4 cup skim milk (or milk of your choice)
1 tablespoon maple syrup
1/4 c. chopped walnuts
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/8 tsp. nutmeg
dash of vanilla extract

Mix all ingredients together and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and cook on low (stirring frequently) until thick and creamy, about 5-7 minutes.

My husband went to get a haircut this morning and on his way back, he surprised me with a Starbucks Gingerbread Latte. How sweet is that? I didn’t even think they would have them past Christmas. And he knows exactly how I like it, which shows he has been paying attention. ;)

After breakfast (which filled me up for hours), my husband and I decided that the house was in desperate need of cleaning. I am so glad that my husband and I don’t have to be at work again until next Monday. Today, we declared it “cleaning day.”

We have gone through every single room and every single drawer. We made a trash pile and a donate pile. Anything that I know I did not use or need, I put in one of those piles.

 

This is the donate pile!

 

I feel like this cleaning was a great way to declutter not only my house, but my life. Believe it or not, I have clothes that are too big or too small. I decided to make it my mission to only keep clothes that actually fit.

These are pants that are a size 9. At one time, these were my favorite pants. However, I haven’t been able to fit into them in roughly five years. I am trying to lose weight, so I kept them for the occasion when I would fit into them again. Then I realized that these pants were also a reminder. They were a reminder of a time when I lost weight by eating under 1000 calories a day and exercising constantly. Do I really need a reminder of that time in my life?

Hopefully, there will come a time when I am a size 9 again. But if (and when) that time comes, I will buy new pants that are a symbol of my new healthy lifestyle.

I had breakfast around 10:00, so I didn’t actually get hungry until after 2:00. I was also quite busy cleaning. Since I wasn’t starving, I still had to force myself to eat something. I ended up with a simple plate of whole wheat pasta, some pasta sauce, and cooked chicken.

I must have been hungrier than I thought because I ate every bite!

The rest of the afternoon was spent with more cleaning. Corey had plans to have dinner with a friend, so I used that time to work out, enjoy watching TV shows (like American Dad) that he doesn’t like, and of course . . . more cleaning. I actually tried to tell myself that as a “reward” for cleaning, I didn’t have to work out. Every time I tried to make that excuse, I rejected it.

My body was craving a work out and cleaning just didn’t cut it. I hadn’t done a strenuous workout in about a week. If I made excuses why I didn’t have to work out today, I would do the same thing tomorrow . . . and the next day, and so on. Operation: Get Back on Track required some exercise, even if it wasn’t a full hour. I ended up working out for about 40 minutes, which made me feel great. I did a couple of Exercise TV On Demand workouts. I did Jillian Michaels’ Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism and Kim Kardashian’s Ab Sculpt workout. It was a first for the Kim Kardashian ab workout and I will definitely be doing it again. It was an awesome mix of cardio moved and floor work.

During our afternoon of cleaning, my husband and I made a big pot of chili. It simmered on the stove for roughly two hours. Everyone knows that the longer chili simmers, the better it tastes. After my workout, I had a big bowl of chili.

I also had a buttered piece of organic multigrain bread. The dinner was delicious!

Now it’s time to relax a little and finish up our cleaning. We are almost finished and we would like to get it done today so that we don’t have to worry about it for the rest of our break. Good night everyone!

9 responses to “Out with the Old

  1. I was feeling SO SHITTY after a weekend of majorly overindulging. After cleaning up my diet again AND working out on Monday I felt like new! Now this week I have allowed myself to have a few sweets here and there but for the most part I am trying to stick to my regular diet and it’s made me feel a million times better not to be eating sweets all the time!

  2. I need to clean out my closet too. I also tend to keep clothes that havent fit in years.

  3. I love Starbucks surprises – awe – that was so sweet! But, cooking dinner is even better. Your man gets a pat on the back today.
    I regularly clean out my clothes, but my “other” closets – the ones holding the junk – are in dire neeed of a clean out.

  4. It sounds like you had a great, productive day! I love how therapeutic a deep clean can feel. :) And I admire your attitude about the jeans. I think allowing yourself to celebrate with a new pair when the time comes sounds like an excellent idea.

    I love rice pudding but have never tried it for breakfast — thanks for the creative suggestion!

  5. Think you could do that cleaning damage on my house? It’s in desperate need of a good cleaning! That chili looks amazing!

  6. I have piles of clothes in my room that I need to donate. I know it always makes me feel better to declutter my house. When my house is organized I feel like my overall life is more organzied :)

  7. Way to go for getting back on track right away! And I’m so impressed with all your cleaning and organizing. I need to do that so badly…and now you’ve made me want to do it even more!

    I do the same thing with keeping clothes that I hope to be able to fit into one day. I love your rationale about the jeans – if you are ever a size 9 again, you’ll totally deserve a brand new pair of jeans! Who needs the old ones!

  8. I love those kinds of cleaning and de-cluttering days! I think I’m in need of one VERY soon. That rice pudding looks delicious and filling, and that chili is just perfect for this time of year. I made some last Sunday with some homemade cornbread… mmm!!

  9. Pingback: Back to Reality |

Leave a Reply

