A day of rest

I love Sundays. It’s a day of rest, relaxation, and some errands as well. :)

The morning started with a breakfast date with my husband. We went to J. Christopher’s to eat. We had a coupon they had mailed us a while back.

I absolutely love this place! They have the best pancakes ever. Of course, I did not get pancakes today because I was in the mood for something a bit lighter.

I ordered a San Bernadino omelet made of egg whites. It had chicken, avocado. cheese, and pico de gallo. It was a very tasty omelet. Next time, I might order it with less chicken and more avocado, but otherwise it was good. The omelet came with some breakfast potatoes and an English muffin.

Believe it or not, I managed to stop myself from eating the whole meal. I actually stopped eating when I was full. Yay!

 

The remnants of my meal

 

Normally when we eat out, I stuff myself silly until I am so full that I feel like I am going to be sick. This is the second meal that I have eaten out and left the restaurant feeling satisfied, but not stuffed.

After breakfast, we had to go to Whole Foods and the Farmer’s Market for some healthy items that I had run out of. I stocked up on plenty of great items. The Farmer’s Market was insanely packed. They were predicting snow, so of course the entire state was in panic mode.

At the Farmer’s Market, I stoked up on lots of healthy goodies.

I bought a few pears, some fresh pineapple, an avocado, cherry tomatoes, blackberries, cashews, peanuts, a yellow bell pepper, some potatoes, freshly ground sirloin, and some hamburger buns that are out of this world. Quite the haul!

After our trip to the grocery store, we came home and bundled up for a run (with Callie of course). It was 30 degrees outside, but I wanted to get in a day of 10K training since I hadn’t run in a few days.

I think the cold was a bit much though. Instead of a full 46 minute walk/run, we ended up doing about 30 minutes. I started feeling like a migraine was coming on. I think it was all the cold air hitting my face and my head. I tried not to beat myself up for cutting my walk short. Something was better than nothing, right?

Corey loaned me his sunglasses and hat to help warm my face a bit. It did help a little. My eyes were hurting from the sun and the wind, so the sunglasses helped.

When we got home, I wanted a warm and comforting lunch. So I turned to my favorite comfort food: grilled cheese and tomato soup.

The tomato soup was a brand that I bought at Whole Foods. I forget the name, but it’s one of the few that I have found without MSG. And it is good! The grilled cheese was made out of standard organic multigrain bread and some American cheese. It was an excellent lunch in this weather.

After lunch, I still wasn’t feeling well so I slept for a large part of the day while Corey took care of some things around the house. I guess Callie was tired from our walk because she napped right along with me.

My appetite wasn’t much to speak of throughout the afternoon (because of my headache), so I didn’t snack that much. In the afternoon, I was catching up on some blogs and my husband brought me a mug of Gingerbread Spice tea. Mmm . . .I love this tea and contrary to popular belief, it’s not just for Christmas. It was very comforting.

When I did start feeling better (and hungry), I wanted to use my brand new food processor to whip up a snack. A couple of days ago, I noticed a recipe for Raw Honey Cookie Bites on Kat’s blog. They seemed like an easy and healthy snack.

And I was right. They were. I think I may just add a little more honey next time because the mixture seemed a little dry. But they were so good and just the right amount of sweetness. Next time, I may play around with the spices a bit. Maybe I could add some pumpkin pie spice? I can’t wait to whip up another batch for me to take to work. They will be perfect for a portable afternoon snack.

For dinner, Corey cooked a rotierrsie chicken. It was cooking in the oven for a few hours and the smell was rejuvenating my appetite.

With the chicken, we had a baked potato and some roasted green beans.

Well . . . I had the green beans. Corey doesn’t like the unfamiliar and the new, so he still won’t eat them. Poor boy, he is missing out. :)

After dinner, I decided to do a workout. I was feeling better and the mood struck me. So I did the Jillian Michaels 6 week 6 pack DVD that I bought yesterday.

I love this workout! There are two levels. I started with level 1 and it was very tough, but effective. It is 35 minutes and a mixture of standing and floor work. I was feeling it in my abs by the time I was halfway through it and the workout kept my heart rate up the entire time. I was huffing and puffing from the warm up alone. I don’t like the name of the workout though. I mean, how realistic is it to develop a six pack in six weeks? But the moves will definitely strengthen my core.

Now I am relaxing with my husband before bed. I am so incredibly excited because it is snowing! Here in Georgia, we don’t often get a lot of snow. So the fact that we are expecting 3 to 5 inches overnight is pretty awesome. I can’t wait to play in it tomorrow. :)

22 responses to “A day of rest

  1. I feel like it’s Christmas Eve and I’m just waiting for the snow to hit so I can not make it into work tomorrow :)

    Your pup is adorable!! Mine is resting on my lap and I’ll admit, he’s making it a little difficult to type. I need to see if we have an indoor farmers market here, I miss all the good deals I get during the spring and summer.

  2. I’ve heard of that DVD on several blogs now. I want to see what it’s all about! I need to do ab work.

  3. So glad you liked the 6 week 6 pack! I saw Kat’s recipe for the honey-nut snacks last week and have been wanting to try them–glad they worked out well for you :)

    Happy Monday!

  4. Way to say no to the pancakes, that is not easy to do, especially on lazy Sunday!!

  5. I love your rotierrsie chicken and I’m still struggling looking for the perfect recipe for it. Would you mind sharing yours? Thanks!!

  6. That sounds like it was such a relaxing day! And I totally agree about level 1, it’s short and sweet but it kicks your butt!

  7. Yay! I bought Six Week Six Pack (yeah, right) but I haven’t tried it yet. Maybe tonight!

  8. Drool! So much yumminess! I wish I had a restaurant nearby that served gorgeous, colorful, healthy breakfasts! so jealous <3

    The chicken almost looks like he's dancing =) it made me laugh!

    xoXOxo
    Jenn @ Peas & Crayons

  9. That breakfast looks totally ymmy. Do you have any idea why they named it the San Bernadino? San Bernardino with an extra r is in California.

  10. Yay glad you tried my recipe :) Love that you stocked up at the farmers market! I really need to get to mine but it has been raining and I dont go when everythings wet! I dont like getting drenched

  11. It’s great that you’ve been able to stop eating when you are full. I often times eat until I feel sick, too. It’s the worst feeling, and so not worth it!!

  12. Enjoy the snow! :)

    Glad you had a positive restaurant experience. Eating out (restaurants, parties, etc.) used to be really tough for me. At some point I had gotten into the habit to just eat “whatever.” I still have to be really conscious or I get in trouble. Having a “plan” before I go helps me a lot.

    Have a great week!

    • Andrea, I am still working on temptations when I go out to eat. Sometimes I will have a plan, but that goes out the window the second I am seated! I am proud that my last two restaurant experiences have been good ones. Guess I am learning and growing. :)

  13. Your “day of rest” seemed pretty busy! I love those food shopping trips where you come home and can stock the fridge and shelves with all kinds of yummy, healthy foods!
    Hope your migraine is feeling better… those really are the worst.

  14. That omelet looks amazing. *drool*

  15. Sounds like a great day to me. :) I can’t believe how much snow Atlanta got — here on the east coast, we’ve got nothing (so far!!).

    I have heard great things about that Jillian Michaels DVD. I have her 30 Day Shred, and if it’s anything like that, it must be an awesome workout!!

  16. tomato soups is by far one of my favorite things to eat!!!

    Dana xo

    http://happinessiswithinblog.com/

  17. Pingback: Food Processor Lovin’! |

  18. Pingback: I heart leftovers |

Leave a Reply

