Pizza for Breakfast and Breakfast for Dinner

Today was a snow day for just about the entire state of Georgia.

cemetery covered in snow

We don’t get much snow here, so when we get a lot of it the whole state kind of shuts down. We got roughly 5 inches of snow and I was so thankful that today was my day off. I didn’t have anywhere to be so I could just enjoy the day. :)

Our street covered in snow (and ice)

I started with a recipe that I saw on Katie’s blog and I have seen it replicated a couple of times now. It’s called Pizzert. I am all about pizza for breakfast! For my recipe, I used half white and half wheat flour, some honey as my sweetener, applesauce, nonfat milk, and some blackberries as my fruit.

Yummy! It was so easy and filling (and tasty). I topped my slices with some Naturally Nutty vanilla almond butter. I ate half of the Pizzert and will save the other half for a quick breakfast later this week. On another note, I ran out of vanilla almond butter today so I quickly went on their website and ordered some more. I love their vanilla almond butter and I need some more STAT!

After breakfast (and a little frolicking in the snow with Callie), I wanted a good workout. Most days, I procrastinate and procrastinate until it’s the end of the day and I don’t feel like doing it. I wanted to get my workout done early, so I would have the rest of the day to play.

I did Jackie Warner’s total body circuit (43 minutes) and I tried the Biggest Loser Last Chance workout that was available from Exercise On Demand. Thank goodness for this feature because I get to try so many new workouts that way! As usual, the Jackie Warner DVD totally kicked my butt. But I feel myself getting stronger day by day. Today, I was actually able to complete most of the exercises (though not without a fair amount of huffing and puffing).

Today was a first for the Biggest Loser workout. I wanted a quick cardio workout just to balance everything out. The workout was 10 minutes (not including cool down). I have to say that I didn’t think I would like it at first. The first minute or two seemed to be a little too easy, especially the warm-up. The warm-up didn’t get my heart rate up that much. But before long, I was sweating and huffing and puffing and I was falling in love with the work out a little bit. I think that next time, I may do the cardio before the strength though. My legs were kind of exhausted from the many squats and lunges from my earlier workout, so I struggled with the jumps and squats of Biggest Loser. What I especially love is this workout is not run by Jillian Michaels or Bob Harper. It is run by real past contestants who have real bodies. I will keep this workout in mind next time I am short on time, but want to do something. Just because a workout isn’t 45 minutes doesn’t mean you aren’t getting benefits. Do you have a preference for doing strength before cardio? Or vice versa?

After my workout and a very long shower, I was ready for lunch. My body was craving salads. I don’t often crave veggies, so I won’t refuse my body what it needs. :)

I kind of threw a lot of stuff into a bowl: spinach, grape tomatoes, yellow pepper, a small handful of cashews, some corn, a link of spicy Italian chicken sausage I bought at Whole Foods yesterday, and I topped it with a couple of tablespoons of hummus. Mmm . . . it was tasty! It had protein, veggies, and healthy fats. Just what my body needed. Along with the salad, I had an unpictured piece of organic bread with the rest of my vanilla almond butter.

That salad was full of so much stuff that it actually kept me full for the rest of the afternoon. I love that! The rest of the afternoon was spent catching up on blogs and watching Law and Order: SVU.

Corey came home a little early from work and we decided to take Callie somewhere to play in the snow. The roads were horrible. Snow and ice everywhere. We decided to go to a cemetery that is next door and play there. I’m sure that sounds weird, but we walk along the path there all the time and it is a beautiful area.

Rewarding Callie with her favorite treat: cheese!

Callie playing with her new toy

Corey and I had fun watching Callie frolic and we were both taking lots of pictures. It was weird letting my husband take most of the pics, but he does have a degree in photography. So I guess he knows what he’s doing. ;) My job was to stand in one spot and try not to slip on the ice. I am extremely clumsy, so we were both worried about that. But I’m happy to report there were no injuries! I do have to give credit where credit is due though. Some of the pictures in this blog post are mine, but others are his. His pictures came out beautiful!

I think Corey and I only spent about 15 or 20 minutes playing around with Callie. At that point, we were both turning to ice. We also didn’t want Callie to get hurt on the ice or get too cold. I’m sure she would have liked to play forever, but it just wasn’t possible.

When we got home, we wanted something quick. I had not had bacon or eggs in a few days and I had a serious craving. So breakfast for dinner it was!

I had an egg, bacon, and cheese sandwich on multigrain bread. Along with the sandwich, I had a second egg on the side. All that playing in the snow made me starving!

Because the roads (and interstates) are so bad, I’m not sure if I will go into work tomorrow. At the very least, I will go in late. I’ll see how it goes. I hate to miss work, but I don’t feel comfortable driving on roads where people are getting stuck and are barely able to go above 5 mph.

Is anyone a college football fan? I’m not really a football fan period, but my husband graduated from Auburn so he is kind of into the big game right now. I am feeling so sore from my workout today. Jackie Warner and Jillian Michaels have both worked my core something good over the past couple of days. Now I’m going to feign interest in this game a little bit longer and hope for better conditions on the road tomorrow! Good night everyone!

20 responses to “Pizza for Breakfast and Breakfast for Dinner

  1. Love your salad!
    I usually prefer to do cardio first, strength second. Although sometimes I skip cardio and just go for strength. :)

  2. Pizzerts are AMAZING!!!
    I usually do cardio, then strength training. :)

  3. Pingback: Pizza for Breakfast and Breakfast for Dinner | « healthy pizza recipes

  4. Hey, Cynthia! Just had a chance to trackback to your blog after your comment at Happiness Here. Looks like I’ve found a gold mine! I can’t wait to try the dessert pizza recipe….yum.
    Consequently, I’m also in Georgia, dealing with the snow. Stay safe and warm!

  5. Aww you’re so sweet :). And Callie is adorable!

  6. That is so fitting, I’ve been craving breakfast for dinner since I got pancakes on Sunday instead of eggs. I just want an omelet already!

  7. I’ve never heard of the Pizzert! Jackie Warner is amazing, I might have to try that out if you say it was a good one, I really need to kick my own butt today. I typically do cardio before strength (I like to get the cardio out of the way…haha) Happy Tuesday!

  8. That pizzert looks great! We are big pizza fans in my house so anything close to it should be well received!

    Callie is adorable! Reminds me of the Springer Spaniel I had growing up. :)

  9. Great pictures! And now you’ve made me crave a salad!

    I usually prefer to do cardio first, especially if I’m at the gym. Not sure why – probably because I think cardio is the harder part so I want to get it over with first! Plus it loosens/warms up my muscles a little bit. Hope you’re still enjoying the snow!

  10. I am so glad I haven’t already eaten breakfast, because I’m going to make a pizzert now. Thanks for the reminder :)

  11. That breakfast pizza looks fantastic! Looks like you guys were in a winter wonderland!

  12. Thanks for the tips on the Biggest Loser workout! I have been on the look-out for some at-home workouts that are worth it and get the job done.

    Oh and I love breakfast for dinner! ;)

  13. I want pizzert! That just sounds delicious and who doesn’t like pizza.chocolate for breakfast!?

    I hate cardio so I just prefer to do my weights (which my workout yesterday totally destroyed me, I am hurting today) but when I do do both, I prefer to get the cardio out of the way first b/c if I dont do it first, I wont do it at all. I think I read somewhere that its better to do strength training first though?

  14. Oh my, I loooove pizzerts. They make me so happy. I totally approve of your double pizza action. :) hooray for snow!

  15. Yum the pizerts look so tasty. I don’t mind pizza for breakfast :) Glad you had a snow day. I’m praying the snow misses us tonight. I don’t ever get snow days at work.

Leave a Reply

