Food Processor Lovin’!

Before I talk about today, I want to give a brief mention about yesterday. I didn’t blog, mostly because I didn’t get home from work until nearly 5:00 pm and by then I was so emotionally drained that I just wanted to unplug for a while.

Last night, Corey and I wanted to go out to dinner. We had a gift card for Outback, which could be used at Carrabba’s. And since our last dinner there was so awesome, that’s where we wanted to go. However, I was starving and the wait was way too long. Coincidentally, we had another gift card to Chili’s. We decided to go there. Not a good idea as it turns out.

We started with some chips, salsa, and queso dip. (By the way, I’m sorry about the quality of the photos. The lighting was awful!)

The queso dip was pretty good. Of course, the chips were way too salty. As my husband said, it was like someone had dumped a salt lick on the chips. He wasn’t exaggerating.

For my entrée, I ordered some crispy shrimp tacos. The tacos came with rice and black beans.

The shrimp tacos were not good. They were way too salty and I didn’t like the flavor of the rice. I tried one or two of Corey’s fries and they were also way too salty. Maybe they did that on purpose so people will drink more. Corey usually drowns his food in salt, so if he says that he thought the food was too salty, then that’s saying something. Neither one of us ate very much of our entrees. In fact, we spent the rest of the night trying not to throw up. Worst dinner ever.

Today I was feeling extremely dehydrated (probably from all the salt). I wanted a nice, healthy breakfast in an attempt to recover from last night.

I took one apple and microwaved it for 2 minutes with some cinnamon and Naturally Nutty Butter Toffee Peanut Butter. After it was done, I added half a cup of the custom granola that I created online, along with some ricotta cheese. It was so delicious! What a great way to start the day.

The rest of the day was spent with rerun after rerun of New Adventures of the Old Christine. I just discovered reruns of this show on Lifetime. It is so freaking hilarious. I had a nice lunch.

It was a hamburger on a white pita (I was totally out of my multigrain bread) with some Alexia Sweet Potato fries. I love these things! Unlike most frozen items, there are only a couple of ingredients and I can recognize all of them! They are very delicious and perfect when you want something quick.

After lunch, Corey and I went to Whole Foods to stock up on veggies and bread. You know, the staples. I was feeling so drained for some reason when we got back. I had to force myself to go for another session with my 10K training app.

I am so glad that we got dressed and went out. It was truly a beautiful day. It was in the high 40’s and the sun was shining. Just about all of the ice had melted and even most of the snow was gone. I really wanted to go for a run for Callie’s sake. Poor thing has had cabin fever worse than anyone. Even with all that ice, she didn’t understand why we couldn’t go for a walk.

It’s amazing the difference that a couple of days of above freezing temps can do. On Monday, the cemetery looked like this . . .

And today it looked like this.

I didn’t even need a jacket! And to think that exactly one week ago, I went for a run and got a headache because the wind was blowing so hard.

The highlight of the afternoon was watching Julie & Julia.

And best of all . . . I made my very own nut butter! I used my brand new food processor and I used Angela’s recipe for dark chocolate almond butter as a guide.

I started with some raw peanuts.

I melted some white chocolate chips.

And I mixed it all together. Took about 15 minutes to fully transform the peanuts into peanut butter. But when I was done, I had white chocolate peanut butter! Yummy.

It tastes as good as it looks. :)

Now I’m relaxing, eating some dinner, and getting ready for Desperate Housewives.

Dinner was baked chicken strips and sweet potato fries. These sweet potato fries were fresh and roasted with olive oil, salt, paprika, and red pepper. Spicy. The chicken strips were made simply by coating chicken with some melted butter and panko crumbs mixed with a little black pepper and salt. It was a tasty meal. And now I’ve realized that I have eaten a lot of orange veggies today.

Unfortunately, I have to work tomorrow so my weekend has been a bit short. Hope everyone had a great weekend. What did you do this weekend?

16 responses to “Food Processor Lovin’!

  1. Yummm those fries look good. This weekend I watched the Bears kick butt! :) haha love your post the food looks great!

  2. I would’ve been so bummed out to eat at Chili’s over Carrabba’s. The Chili’s here is also notorious for over-salting their food. Best thing on the menu (as far as I’m concerned) is the cheesesteak, which is surprisingly good.
    I went to the Fox Theatre this weekend and saw Beauty and the Beast after eating at the Cheesecake Factory. Pretty stellar weekend.

  3. I wish the snow would melt totally over here! I’m SO sick of it!

    This weekend I didn’t do too much but I did get in some hot yoga and shopping!

  4. Oh my goodness your nut butter looks so good. I’m going to have to try making that.
    And the Butter Toffee Peanut Butter.. yum. That sounds delicious!

  5. Isn’t it crazy the difference between last wk and this wk? All the ice is finally starting to melt here.

    I haven’t been to Chili’s in ages. Anytime I do go, chips and salsa is a must!

  6. I absolutely love my food processor! I am still finding ways to use it but once I discovered its awesomeness I will never be caught dead chopping up onions ever again! I laid low this weekend with my own guilty pleasure, Dexter! Have you ever seen this show? It is so addicting!!

  7. Hey Cynthia, thanks for the reassurance about Everwood! :D

    I keep meaning to make my own nut butter — you’re the third person I’ve seen recently who has done it. I’m just so lazy about getting round to these things. Which is really silly, as it’s so expensive here in the UK too.. Ok, I hereby pledge to make my own this weekend. Thanks for the final push!

    Hope work was ok..

  8. I am not a fan of Chili’s for the exact reason you described: SALT! They go overboard on their sodium, it’s crazy! On a more positive note, your homemade white chocolate peanut butter looks phenom!

  9. My dad, sis, and I woke up at 5am on Saturday and drove 5-6 hours to my cousins for my Grandma’s 90th Birthday Party. We drove home today. It was really nice to see all of my cousins. :)

    Your white chocolate peanut butter looks I.N.C.R.E.D.I.B.L.E!!!!!

  10. I’m so ready for Spring!! I’ve made nut butter…it’s so much fun :)

  11. Pingback: I heart leftovers |

  12. I eat a lot of orange veggies too! They’re my favorite :)

  13. Yum, white chocolate peanut butter!

Leave a Reply

