Pancakes or Waffles?

Sometimes there can be miscommunication in a marriage.

It happens. I don’t understand what he means by “early.” And somehow, when I tell him I am craving waffles, he thinks I want pancakes. Good thing I love him because this only bothered me for about ten minutes. :)

I did come up with a great recipe. And because my husband is so wonderful, he insists on cooking me breakfast every weekend. So I gave him the recipe and left him to work his magic.

I was disappointed that he made pancakes instead of waffles, but somehow I managed to eat three of them. Guess they were still pretty tasty. :) Still . . . I can’t wait to make them as waffles. But if my husband is doing the cooking, I will make my instructions a lot more clear. 

Gingerbread Walnut Pancakes (0r Waffles)

1/2 c. white flour
1/2 c. wheat flour
1 T. brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
2 eggs
1/2 c. nonfat milk
1/8 c. unsweetened applesauce
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. ginger
1/2 tsp. ground cloves
1/2 c. chopped walnuts

Combine all dry ingredients, except for the walnuts. In separate bowl, combine wet ingredients. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ones and fold together. Stir in chopped walnuts. Do not overbeat or they will be tough. Use 1/4 c. of batter per pancake (or waffle). Enjoy!

8 responses to “Pancakes or Waffles?

  1. Hehe, guys are so funny. I love how you try to give them a hint about one thing, and they end up thinking of something else. :)
    These look wonderful! They’ll totally work as waffles. :)

  2. When I get married I want my husband to make me breakfast on the weekend :) Then again, it depends on how good a cook he is and what he plans on making.

    And the pancakes look great!

  3. gingerbread waffles!?! yes please! omg, I set out to make waffles yesterday but my mom informed me that she apparently broke the waffle maker the last time she used it..boo:( I’ll have to try your pancakes sometime though, I love anything with cinnamon!

  4. Oh yum!! These sound delicious!

  5. He probably didn’t want to wash the waffle iron :)

  6. These look so good!! I love when my boyfriend cooks for me and it barely happens so i I feel like I eat it no matter what haha

  7. Pingback: So many movies, so little time |

Leave a Reply

