Fueling Foods

I have mentioned before that my work schedule has gotten really busy over the past few weeks. On those days where I am really busy, food choices are even more important because my foods need to fuel me for a long day.

When you are working late, it can be easy to mindlessly snack all day. Sometimes I do feel like I get even hungrier on those days. So I like to bring foods that will keep me full for a while. This is what I ate yesterday to keep me full and energized.

I started the day with a peanut butter waffle (recipe coming soon!) topped with hot apples, cinnamon, and a little maple syrup.

The apple on the waffle added some extra fiber that kept me full for several hours.

On the way to work, I picked up my new favorite drink from Starbucks, a skinny White Chocolate Mocha. I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg to it to give it a little something special.

Granted, this was decaf so I didn’t exactly get a caffeine boost. But it still gave me a surge in energy.

Breakfast kept me full for a while so I had a late lunch. I had some chili that my husband and I prepared last week (leftover chili is the best). I added some brown rice and some kidney beans for a little added bulk.

Not a pretty picture, but it was delicious! And it kept me full for a while as well.

I had an afternoon/early evening snack of a couple of hard boiled eggs.

I think that eggs get a bad rap. They are a great source of protein!

A little while later, I was feeling a little snackish again. I brought out my little homemade snack mix that I made that morning.

In the tupperware container were some Barbara’s Peanut Butter Puffins, some Trader Joe’s peanut butter filled pretzels, and some honey roasted peanuts. Can you tell that I love peanut butter? :) Because the eggs had done their job, I didn’t feel hungry enough to eat all of it. I just had the pretzels and about half of the cereal. Great munching material!

I did not get home until after 8:00 pm. I didn’t take a picture of my food, but my wonderful husband had prepared me a dinner of sweet potato fries and a lean hamburger patty. Yummy!

I will be honest and say that after dinner I was in the mood for something sweet, so I had a few of my husband’s Famous Amos vanilla sandwich cookies. They were so good!

The best thing about my busy schedule is that I stay very active at work. There are a couple of sets of stairs that I have to climb. The busier we are, the more times I have to climb the stairs. So I may not have had time for a workout, but it’s hard to feel guilty when my quads are feeling this sore! :)

What is your favorite snack or meal that keeps you full for a long period of time?

7 responses to “Fueling Foods

  1. Almonds! They keep me full for over 2-3 hours! :)

    I love your waffles! YUMMERS!
    xoxo
    Kathleen

  2. Aww that’s so cute that the hubby made you dinner after a long day. Greek yogurt always keeps me really full!

  3. My favorite snack is peanut butter chocolate chip hummus with pita chips! So good! The saltiness of the pita chip and the sweetness of the hummus is a perfect combo.

  4. I need to work on better fuel, too. I’m out of the house for sooo long now that I just snack all day and eat nothing nutritious. Not good!

  5. I’m also a fan of eggs, I had some today :) Recently someone told me they are actually “healthier” than previous thought. It’s like the epic margarine vs. butter debate!

  6. Protein fills me up really well, so my favorite filling snacks are protein bars, greek yogurt, and cottage cheese. YUM! :-D

  7. I love an apple and peanut butter together. Crunchy, sweet, and very filling!

Leave a Reply

