ABC’s and National Nutrition Month

Happy first day of March! I can’t believe that it’s March already. More than that, I can’t believe the weather has felt like Spring for the last couple of weeks. I have a feeling winter will rear its ugly head before I know it.

Besides being that much closer to Spring, March is also National Nutrition Month. I found a calendar on Sparkpeople called 31 days to a healthier diet. I think everyone could use a few extra ideas on how to live a healthier lifestyle. I will be posting the tip for the day every day this month to acknowledge this important month. You can find the calendar here.

Tip for today, March 1st: Keep a food diary. Before you can improve your diet, you need to know where you stand.

Check! I have kept my food diary today. I use Sparkpeople’s nutrition tracker to record all of my meals and snacks. I do that 85% of the time. It does give me a general idea as to where I need to improve on my diet.

And now for something fun . . . . the ABC’s! I have seen this around on a couple of blogs lately and I thought it would be nice to let my readers know a little bit more about me.

A. Age: 30 . . . and unlike Kim Kardashian, I do NOT feel like 30 is old. I actually think this is one of the best times of my life.

B. Bed size: Queen. I’m sure Corey wishes it were a King though. He says I hog the bed.

C. Chore you dislike: That’s a tough one since I hate cleaning anyway. But judging from the pile of clothes on my floor, I guess I would say it’s putting away my laundry.

D. Dogs: Never thought I was a cat or a dog person until we got our dog, Callie. I adore dogs and Callie is the light of my life. I think of her as my child.

E. Essential start to your day: Inviting Callie into bed with us after the alarm goes off. Those few minutes that I spend snuggling with Corey and Callie first thing in the morning are the best part of my day.

F. Favorite color: Blue or Purple

G. Gold or silver: I don’t wear much jewelry, but I like silver. And my engagement and wedding rings are white gold, which I really like.

H. Height: 5’ 7″

I. Instruments you play(ed): None! I’ve always wanted to learn how to play the piano. My grandmother has a beautiful piano she has promised me when she dies.

J. Job title: Counselor and Funding Coordinator

K. Kids: Other than Callie (see letter D), I don’t have any. One day, I hope to. But right now, my biological clock seems to be ticking in my parents’ bodies. :)

L. Live: Marietta, GA . . . it’s about 20 minutes outside of Atlanta.

M. Mom’s name: Monica

N. Nicknames: Cindy, Uno, Cindy #1 (I am best friends with another Cindy so these last two were a way to distinguish us in college.)

O. Overnight hospital stays: Two. When I was younger, I had a massive kidney infection and was in the hospital for a couple of weeks (worst pain ever). I also went to the hospital due to a horrible migraine when I was young.

P. Pet peeve: Ignorant people and drivers who REFUSE to let you over and just ignore the fact that you have your blinker on. Rude drivers annoy me anyway.

Q. Quote from a movie: Honestly, I don’t remember many movie quotes. There aren’t many movies that I watch enough times to remember quotes. But one that comes to mind is from Gone With The Wind, “As God is my witness, I’ll never go hungry again!” I do love that movie.

R. Righty or Lefty: Righty.

S. Siblings: One sister, she is three years younger.

T. Time you wake up: Usually around 7 am or so. It’s hard to sleep in when you have a dog. Maybe I should train her to use the toilet.

U. Underwear: Umm . . . 90% of the time I’m not wearing any. If I’m wearing a skirt, I try to remember.

V. Vegetables you don’t like: I’m trying my best to acquire a taste for veggies and there are some that I like more than others. But one vegetable I absolutely hate is mushrooms. And canned green beans. Gross!

W. What makes you run late: I’m typically early more than I am late. But if I am late, it’s usually because Callie took forever to go to the bathroom or I’m making a Starbucks run or because I just had to watch the last five minutes of some show I was watching. TV gets me every time.

X. X-Rays you’ve had: dental and quite a lot of X-Rays on my knee. I once dislocated my knee and I have had some problems with both knees since then.

Y. Yummy food you make: I make a lot of good things, but I don’t think I have one dish that’s so much better than the others.

Z. Zoo animal favorite: Lions, tigers, and zebras . . . I love the exotic animals. They are so beautiful!

Have a great night everyone. What are some of your ABC’s?

9 responses to “ABC’s and National Nutrition Month

  1. So glad you did the ABC post – fun to learn more about you!

  2. HAPPY NATIONAL NUTRITION MONTH!!!! :D

    One of my ABCs are my ABC2 Granola Bars! :)

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  3. So lucky you’re so tall!!! Can’t wait to read more of the nutrition tips too! So funny that you rarely wear underwear. I don’t know if I could do that lol!

  4. Fun! I’ve been seeing the ABC post everywhere, I might have to steal this :)

  5. Rude drivers are a pet peeve of mine, too! I scream at drivers as loudly as possible with my windows rolled up so they don’t hear me and shoot me :)

  6. Pingback: The most important meal of the day |

  7. I also was in the hospital for the same thing!!
    Calorie counting can be so difficult but really worth it if you have the patience!

  8. Pingback: Get your fruit! |

Leave a Reply

