Red Flag

Today was an incredibly long day at work so I am going to make this post brief. I’m exhausted!

I did want to share today’s health tip: know your “red flag” menu items. Avoid restaurant items such as battered, bottomless, breaded, cheesy, buttery, creamy, crispy, fried, etc.

menu from Farm Burger

I am torn about this one. While I do agree that those things can be bad for you, who doesn’t like something bottomless, cheesy and fried every once in a while? :)

I don’t eat those types of food all the time and that is not because of the amount of calories in them. It’s because if I eat too many fried foods, I feel like crap. I can feel the difference in my body when I eat something that is overly processed and greasy. I guess the moral is all things in moderation!

Tonight my husband and I had my FAVORITE healthy version of fast food.

Lean ground beef on a Farmer’s Market bun and fries that are baked and taste amazing. This is my favorite bun ever. It is baked fresh at the Farmer’s Market and only has about five ingredients. And it has a sweet, buttery taste that is out of this world. Yes, buttery is a red flag word and I just don’t care. This menu has less calories and grease than fast food, but it’s even more delicious.

I do have to admit something. After the health tip about making sure to eat breakfast, I did something I never do: I skipped breakfast.

I know . . . it’s a shock. But I had a good reason, I promise. I had a horrible migraine this morning (that I had to work through) and I was feeling extremely sick to my stomach. When I got to work, I took something for the nausea and eventually I started feeling better. But I did not eat anything until around 11:00 am, at which point I had some Peanut Butter Puffins (dry) and pineapple. It was tasty, but not super filling.

I definitely felt the difference in my body as a result of not eating breakfast. I was hungry all day and felt like I could have eaten off my own hand. It’s a good thing I didn’t bring more snacks to work because I would have eaten way too much. Remind me to never do that again. I don’t really need a reminder though. But today was seriously not normal for me. Even when I am not that hungry in the morning, I always eat something no later than 10:00 am. Live and learn. :)

What is your favorite healthy version of junk food?

5 responses to “Red Flag

  1. Bacon Cheese Fries is my number one junk food pick!

  2. My favorite healthy form of junk food are cookies!!! Homemade and fresh from the oven! :D

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  3. I definitely agree that everything in moderation is good. I love having some fried appetizer when I go out to eat but I try to limit myself. I love healthy mac n cheese that is baked! So good!

  4. I like baking up sweet potato fries instead of regular french fries!

  5. My favorite healthy junk food is homemade fries! I just cut a potato into strips bake at 425 F for 12 minutes and eat. Love them!

Leave a Reply

