Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

I don’t use my cookbooks nearly often enough. Also, there has been a major pumpkin shortage in my life. I have hardly eaten any of it since Christmas.

My friend Luke gave me a cookbook for Christmas and for some reason, it has taken me this long to use it. I don’t know why because there are tons of mouth-watering recipes in it.

I decided to make pumpkin bread as my first recipe from the book. I just changed up the recipe a little. I used egg whites instead of whole eggs and applesauce instead of oil. I also decreased the sugar and the amount of chocolate chips just a bit. The end result was a wonderfully light and moist bread that had a hint of sweetness and spice and was loaded with nuts.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread – adapted from Pumpkin: A super food for all 12 months of the year (makes one loaf)

2 egg whites
3/4 c. sugar
3/4 c. canned unsweetened pumpkin
1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce
1 1/2 c. flour (I used 1 c. white and 1/2 c. wheat flour)
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ginger
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 c. chopped walnuts (optional)
1/2 c. chocolate chips (I used white chocolate chips)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Whisk the egg whites, sugar, pumpkin, and applesauce in a large bowl until well blended. Sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, salt and nutmeg into the pumpkin mixture. Fold in the nuts and chocolate chips. Pour batter into greased loaf pan. Bake 45-50 minutes, or until golden brown and cooked through. Cool completely before slicing.

Wonderful recipe! There is also a recipe for pumpkin biscuits in the cookbook that I have my eyes on. :)

12 responses to “Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

  1. OHMYGOSH! That looks AMAZING!!!! I love this! It totally reminds me of the Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread from Great Harvest, but BETTER! :D Yeah for lower sugar! :D

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  2. I don’t use cookbooks nearly as much as I should, either. I guess there’s a little voice always saying to tweak recipes in some way anyway..but sometimes actually following them proves to be the best choice. :P This bread looks amazing and so moist! I’m not sure I’ve ever had pumpkin break which is strange considering how pumpkin-crazy I usually get!

  3. I don’t look at my cookbooks any more either! I should really bust them out. Pumpkin and chocolate- is there anything better?

  4. I am so in love with pumpkin bread! I made some before the new year and now I’m craving it again! Our pumpkin puree has not gone on sale yet though – 4.39 for 1 can!!!

  5. What a great recipe!!!! Any type of chocolate chip bread, and I’m sold!

  6. Can’t wait for the pumpkin biscuits – not sure I’ve ever had those before! Your pumpkin bread looks delicious – I almost always reduce the amount of sugar in recipes and you really can’t tell.

  7. yum, that looks delish!! I love pumpkin bread…but even better with chocolate chips!

  8. I love cookbooks, I’ve really been trying to use them more as my go-to’s rather than scouring the Internet! Your bread looks fantastic!!

  9. I LOVE PUMPKIN BREAD! This looks amazingg!

  10. I LOVE pumpkin bread of all kinds! You and I must be on the SAME cooking brain wave this week because….not only had I not used pumpkin since December, but I, too, made a pumpkin bread this week! I whipped up a pan of Pumpkin-Walnut-Apple bread last night, and I’ve been loving every bite! Why don’t we cook with pumpkin year round?

    Hope you’re having a great week so far!

  11. We love pumpkin bread at our house. I like your idea of adding applesauce to it to cut the fat and still keep it moist. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your pumpkin bread up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/03/sweets-for-saturday-8.html

  12. Pingback: Baking Day! |

Leave a Reply

