The power of the right size

This weekend I went clothes shopping. It was a long time coming because the only thing holding up my pants for the past couple of months has been a belt. Not to mention the fact that I have saved a couple of hundred dollars specifically for clothes over the past few months. And for some reason, I haven’t used any of it.

My jeans have been a size too big for a while now. But I have been waiting to get a pair of jeans in a smaller size. Waiting for my weight loss to accelerate so I could fit into an even smaller size. Waiting to see if I would gain all the weight back.

Holding onto those pants was like holding on to a security blanket. It was like holding onto these extra pounds I just can’t get rid of. Going to buy new pants was a bit scary. I was scared that I hadn’t actually gone down a size. I was scared that buying a new pair of pants was a sign that I was giving up on losing weight. What if I lost enough weight in the next few weeks so that I didn’t even need these pants? And wearing a pair of pants that actually fit means that if I gain some of my weight back I will know it. No more denial. That alone is a scary enough thought to deter me from shopping.

Then . . . I found them. A perfect pair of jeans. Not even just one pair, but two pair of jeans that fit perfectly.

I can’t tell you how refreshing it was to wear a pair of jeans that didn’t require a belt. And another unexpected side effect of wearing the correct size . . . my self-confidence shot up by about a thousand percent. No longer did I think of myself as fat. My jeans now accentuated my curves in a very flattering way. While in the fitting room, I couldn’t stop staring at my butt. :)

I had no idea that wearing the correct size would make me feel so good about myself. And honestly when I look at pictures of me wearing the bigger jeans, it’s like I lost ten pounds just by wearing the right size!

I am so glad that I finally made the journey to the store. I feel better about myself than I have in months. I even considered the fact that maybe I don’t need to lose weight. Maybe my curves are the way they are supposed to be. And maybe I am the size I am supposed to be.

Now I just need to buy some new work clothes. I only have one pair of work pants that fit me. Guess it wouldn’t hurt to be as confident as work as I am at home. :)

Question: Have you ever held onto clothes that were either too small or too big? For what reason?

9 responses to “The power of the right size

  1. I used to, but now I have accepted and moved on. Holding on is just too tramatizing. I’m so glad that you took that big step! :D

  2. Yay for finding clothes that fit right! Honestly, my pants are pretty snug right now, but I don’t want to go up a size because I am hoping I will fit in them one day again :)

  3. I’m having the same thing happen right now! My jeans are too big, but I’m a little nervous to get new pants, because I might gain the weight back! But I’m so so so sick of wearing a belt everywhere!

  4. Congrats on finding the perfect pants!! SO happy for you :)

  5. Until recently, I held onto clothes that were way too small for me (and it would be really unhealthy for me to fit into them again). I ditched them and feel better now!

  6. Yay for you! I am a shopaholic so I very seldom hang on to clothes that no longer fit or that I haven’t worn in a while (with the exception of a few items like cocktail dresses). I am so happy for you! Go get some work clothes girl and rock that new attitude :)

  7. it’s great that you found jeans that were such a perfect fit and made you feel so confident! it’s amazing how a flattering, comfortable, well-fitting outfit can make you feel so good :)

  8. Finding your “jeans” is the best.

  9. Isn’t finding the perfect pair of jeans such an amazing feeling!? It’s so hard for me because I’m wider in the hips but have absolutely NO butt and tiny legs!

Leave a Reply

