Welcome to my Blog!

The first thing you need to know about me is that I love t0 eat. Seriously. I can be eating breakfast and I will be planning what I will be having for lunch . . . and dinner and even some snacks in between. There may even be a chance that I am drooling over a dinner that I’m not even going to be eating for five days while I am eating something else right now. That is how much I love food.

Another thing to know about me is that, although I am trying to lose weight, I do not consider myself a dieter. Don’t even say that word around me because I loathe and detest it that much. I don’t count calories, fat grams, carbs  . . . nothing, nada. I used to be obsessed with counting calories. I would plan my meals (and exercises) out FIVE days ahead of time and know EXACTLY how many calories I was going to consume each and every day (this included meals and snacks). Sounds exhausting, doesn’t it? It was. But then I read a life changing book.

Women, Food, and God was an AMAZING book. I’m sure I will talk about it a lot more later. But in a nutshell, it taught me to look deeper as to why I feel the need to eat the way I do. Geneen Roth (the author) also said that when you put certain foods on the forbidden list and you try to restrict yourself, it’s like saying you don’t trust yourself or your hunger. I would recommend this book to anyone (male or female) who has issues with food. So now, I pretty much eat when I’m hungry, stop when I’m full (at least I’d like to think I do), and I eat what I want without feeling too guilty. Don’t get me wrong. I do eat healthy. I eat foods that are healthy and all natural and mostly organic even. (Although I know I have a problem getting enough fruits and veggies in my diet and I am working on that.) But if I’m craving a cheeseburger or some ice cream, I’m not going to make myself feel too guilty about giving into the craving. And I’ve lost about ten pounds doing it this way so I must be onto something. The only real foods that are “forbidden” to me are ones that give me a migraine. And I’m sure I will talk more later about how my migraines effect the way I eat.

Another thing to know about me is that I am married. I’ve been married to a wonderful man who I met on eharmony (yes it does work) for almost two years now.

my husband Corey and me in Hawaii

We also have a beautiful dog (Callie). She is about a year and a half year old Springer Spaniel full of energy, and so mischievous sometimes . . .

Don't let the cute face fool you. She's up to no good.

My husband is wonderful and I love him, but the challenge with him is that he is such a picky eater. He hates all fruits and vegetables (not that he’s tried most of them of course) and so that does make healthy eating a bit more challenging. But my job (and one I take very seriously) is to come up with excitring recipes for us to try every week so we aren’t eating the same things over and over. It gets hard (and time consuming for me), but I have managed quite well. We do have several dishes that are in our rotation, but every week I manage to throw a couple different things into the mix. If it were up to him, he would live on mashed potatoes and macaroni and cheese. And swiss cake rolls, of course. But alas, I am here as his wife to make sure he eats foods that he enjoys and that are not heavy and fried. We also want foods that are simple to make and quick.

Well that’s me in a nutshell. I could go on for longer, but then what would I talk about tomorrow?

Leave a Reply

