Mmm . . . Bacon

Still feeling so tired tonight and I’m really debating about whether to work out or not. I always feel guilty if I skip a day. It’s the obsessive, perfectionist part of my personality. I feel like I have to work out every single day. My typical week involves me working out 5-6 days a week, so I usually do pretty well. My days off usually vary, depending on my mood but I still work out when my body needs it.

Tonight I decided I was in the mood for a bacon cheeseburger. Bacon is one of my favorite foods. If I could get away with eating it every day for every meal, I would. But I don’t think I can afford that much bacon and I don’t think that would be the healthiest thing anyway. Since my headache prevention diet, I discovered a bacon that is nitrate and MSG-free. Honestly, I think it is way tastier than the other stuff.

With my burgers, I usually just throw a heaping dose of onion powder in the meat along with some red pepper to spice it up. I love spicy foods.

Then I just fry the burgers in the pan. One trick I have learned with burgers is not to press them during cooking. That just squeezes out the juicy goodness. So I just let ’em cook a few minutes per side and then they are done. I cooked two of them so that I would have one as leftovers. I love leftovers!

Of course, you can’t forget the cheese . . .

Everything's better with cheese!

Then I had to fry up some bacon . . . my favorite part. I love the smell of bacon.

I wrapped it up in lettuce like a wrap, low-carb style. With a little mayo, ketchup and mustard, it was good to go. I practically inhaled it and I had to restrain myself from eating the other burger. It was sooo good!

Now I am waiting for my husband to get home from his business trip and still debating the merits of taking today off from exercise or just resting. I am exhausted because I haven’t been sleeping well. I never seem to sleep well when Corey is away. I don’t know if it’s because I stay up too late just because he’s gone or if it’s because I just don’t like sleeping without him. Looking forward to having him home and getting back into our normal routine.

3 responses to “Mmm . . . Bacon

  1. I had to come visit your blog after reading your blog name story. I’m a pretend cook too! I always wish I could cook better (and am working on it) but definitely don’t have the creative mind for making my own recipes and things. Love the blog name. 🙂

    You made a great looking burger!

  2. Cynthia, DO NOT click on this link! http://forum.gon.com/showthread.php?t=552380
    The sausage can be replaced with ground beef. There are several versions of this on this page. I don’t think any ingrediant is of limits.
    How can you go wrong with a name like Fatties?

Leave a Reply

