Pancake Breakfast

This morning was one of those days where I woke up about an hour before the alarm clock went off and couldn’t get back to sleep. I hate those days. I was still feeling so tired that I didn’t really feel like working out this morning. How lazy of me. But Corey isn’t getting in until after 9 pm tonight, so I should have time to get a good workout in after work. I’m just hoping I have the energy. Today’s breakfast consisted of some pancakes that I still had leftover from Sunday breakfast. Mmm . . . so tasty. And a great basic recipe for pancakes. I probably could have used whole wheat flour for these things, but since Corey was eating them as well for once, I decided to go with basic organic white flour. I have to take my victories where I can get them. I’m just glad he took a break from the chocolate fudge Pop-Tarts.

they taste even better than they look!

I put a little I can’t believe it’s not butter on them and drizzled a little honey on them as well. I love honey on my pancakes. I can’t have sugar free syrup due to the aspartame and the regular syrup has way too many calories. I actually bought a jar of raw honey that came from a farm here in GA at our Farmer’s Market. It is way better than the processed honey you get in the grocery store. The taste is sweeter and clearer somehow. And a little bit goes a long way.

Recipe for Basic Pancakes

    1 1/2c. All-purpose flour
    3 Tbsp. sugar
    1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
    1 tsp. salt
    1 egg
    1 1/2 c. fat free milk
    3 Tbsp. I can’t believe it’s not butter light, melted (or other low calorie/fat free butter)

    Mix dry ingredients and wet ingredients seperately. Mix both wet and dry ingredients together. Spray a frying pan with non-stick cooking spray and turn the burner on medium heat. Ladle pancake batter by 1/4 cup into pan to fry. Flip after pancake bubbles up (approx. 3 min.- different for some stoves) Continue cooking other side for another 2-3 min. Makes about 13 pancakes. The pancakes are very fluffy and delicious.

    For lunch, I am having some leftover slow cooker sloppy joes that I made the other day. I know, sloppy joes. Don’t they remind you of the cafeteria at school? I still love them. I have made my own special “sloppy joe mix” that is better than any packet you buy in the stores. It is pretty tasty. For snacks, I am bringing a blueberry muffin that I made a couple days ago and a tasty peach.

    I adore fresh peaches and will be so sad when August is over and peaches will no longer be fresh and in season. I had never even tried a fresh peach until a month or so ago. Before that, it was always canned peaches. I had no idea what I was missing. Peaches are now my favorite fruit, next to blueberries I think.

    Well now it’s time to get ready for work!

    2 responses to “Pancake Breakfast

    1. Pingback: Sick Day |

    2. Pingback: Fall is here! |

    Leave a Reply

    