Need More Greens!

If there is anything that today’s meals taught me, I need more veggies. I’m not worried about the calorie count at all, but I know that I need to work on getting more fruits and veggies in my diet. But it’s the end of the week and most of the healthy foods are gone so alas, a trip to the grocery store is called for.

The day started with my favorite (and almost daily breakfast): eggs and bacon. I typically have an egg white with two whole eggs. It allows for a more filling breakfast without having the additional calories of a third egg.

You can't have eggs without cheese!

Can't have breakfast without bacon . . .

Sometimes I think it’s too much, but since I’ve lost weight eating this way I won’t sweat it. I did add a peach to today’s breakfast to add a few more nutrients.

Today’s lunch consisted of a leftover burger from the other day. It was just as good as the other day. I would have made some bacon to go with it, but I feel guilty about having bacon for more than one meal a day. It would just be too much. I also stole some of my husband’s potato chips to go with it. It was just that kind of day. I very rarely have chips with a meal. It is amazing to me that chips do not have any MSG or preservatives. They are just made with potatoes, oil, and salt. Isn’t that awesome? Of course, that philosophy does not hold true for Doritos. Ahhh . . . Doritos. That takes me back to my childhood. I miss them sometimes.

Why is it that I always feel the need to eat even when I am not hungry? Believe it or not, this burger and chips kept me full well into the afternoon. Since I can’t bear the thought of being hungry, I am always well prepared with quick snacks at work. Even though I wasn’t hungry, I felt like I should be eating the foods that I had brought. But I refrained.

When I got home from work, there was some time before dinner and I was hungry at that point. So I got some wonderful hummus and put it on some whole wheat saltine crackers. And I just have to say that it was really tough to find hummus that did not have any lemon juice in it. But I am sooo glad I did. I forgot how much I love hummus. It is unbelievably good. Can’t wait until I can have feta cheese again. I’m dreaming of a feta, hummus, and lettuce wrap. Mmmm . . . Yum-O.

Watch out for garlic breath!

As for dinner . . . it was supposed to be pasta with chicken. That was the plan. It was on the menu for the week. However, I let my wily adorable husband talk me into getting Chick-fil-A. I know, it’s not good for me due to the MSG. But sometimes a girl just needs a chicken sandwich. A spicy chicken sandwich at that. And boy was it good. We actually just got two sandwiches and an order of fries to share. But Corey ended up letting me steal eat all the fries because he wasn’t feeling super well. Probably not the best idea because I ate a little too much.

so spicy!

It was a great dinner, maybe not the best day in terms of meals. Tomorrow will be better. 🙂

On another topic, I actually received a compliment today because a coworker noticed that I had lost some weight. That made me happy. In the past couple months, I have lost roughly 10 pounds. I always negate my accomplishments though. Maybe it’s because 10 is a really small number or maybe it’s because I don’t notice any changes myself. Or maybe it’s because I still have about 30 more pounds to reach my goal weight. Whatever the reason, I have to start celebrating my victories where I can get them.

Leave a Reply

