Relaxing Sunday

Today started with a BANG . . . or maybe just an awesome workout. ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know why I don’t try to workout more often (maybe it’s that whole sleeping thing), but morning workouts always leave me feeling more energetic and ready to face the day. My dear husband slept in and then woke up just as I finished my workout on the elliptical. And wonderful husband that he is, he made me a wonderful breakfast. Yay.

I had a major craving of bacon and eggs after my workout of Pilates and cardio (but then again, when don’t I??). But today, I did add some strawberries that I drizzled with honey. Yummy.

Doesn't my husband cook the prettiest eggs?

After breakfast and a nice (long) shower, Corey and I headed to Whole Foods for some grass-fed steaks to cook for dinner tonight. We were planning on marinating them all day so they would be nice and juicy. By the time we got home, it was time for lunch. I had leftovers from dinner last night. A friend and I went to PF Changs for dinner last night and I got a great chicken dish with sliced potatoes, leeks, and some brown rice. And there was no way I could eat all of it. So I enjoyed the rest of that for lunch today.

I also made a nice Italian vinaigrette dressing. I’m still experimenting with homemade salad dressings, but I can’t have most of the store-bought ones because of MSG and different ingredients that may cause a migraine. The salad dressing I made came out pretty well. It was one I kind of modified from another one, but it was pretty tasty and I can definitely share the recipe.

beautiful italian vinaigrette

So I enjoyed my leftovers with a nice spinach salad and homemade salad dressing.

what a balanced meal!

My husband also wanted me to take a picture of his lunch just so I could compare the two on here . . .

Yes he eats like this every day.

And on his plate is a chicken nugget “sandwich” on a hot dog bun with swiss cheese, a Nutty Bar, and Coke Zero. I guess I should be grateful he is drinking Coke Zero instead of Coke. You have no idea how much Coke he used to drink before he made that switch. ๐Ÿ™‚

And here are the steaks that were marinating before we set off on our afternoon date.

beautiful steaks

After Corey and I were sufficiently satisfied with our meals, it was time for our afternoon of fun. This consisted of going to the Botanical Gardens, where there was a Chocolate Cooking Demonstration. Mmm. . . . fondue. It was an awesome afternoon spent with my wonderful husband.

tasty fondue

The fondue had a little cayenne pepper in it and it was my very first taste of a fig. It was very tasty. If chocolate didn’t give me a migraine, I would eat more chocolate with cayenne pepper in it.

me and my husband

When we got home, it was time for serious relaxing. I was so tired! After a little relaxing, dinner was prepared and Corey prepared us the most amazing steak dinner ever. Mmm . . . boneless rib-eye steak, baked potato, and fresh corn on the cob. Yummy. I think I ate way too much though. Not only did I clean my plate, but I helped clean Corey’s. Ooops. ๐Ÿ™‚

yes, that's garlic butter on the steak. don't judge!

So now I am in a food coma and I am relaxing with Corey, getting ready for the True Blood season finale. I love that show! Now, I will leave you with the recipe for the Italian Vinaigrette Dressing. Enjoy!

Italian Vinaigrette Salad Dressing – as adapted from Sparkpeople

1/3 c. white wine vinegar
3/4 tsp. dried oregano
1/2 tsp. dijon mustard
1 tsp. salt
pinch of black pepper
1/2 tsp. onion powder (I used ground onion powder, so if you have dried you may want to use a little bit different measurements or you can use fresh onion diced really fine if you like)
1 1/4 tsp. garlic powder (again, I used ground)
1/2 – 3/4 c. olive oil

Combine all ingredients, except olive oil. Can whisk in a bowl or use blender to blend them more throughly. Blend together while slowly adding olive oil. It may be better to let dressing sit for about 30 minutes before serving to let the flavors blend.

2 responses to “Relaxing Sunday

  1. Sounds like a nice weekend! I love P.F. Chang’s, almost went to the best alternative Pei Wei for lunch today.

  2. I loveeee morning workouts! Makes for such an energizing and productive day!

Leave a Reply

