Recipe Failure

I think my cooking skills are on the fritz. Yesterday, I burned my kale chips.

Tonight, I was attempting a Chili-Cornbread Casserole. I was kind of playing around with a recipe I saw on Eating Well. I’ve been craving chili for a couple of weeks, so this seemed like the perfect thing.

I don’t know if it was the recipe or me, but something went wrong.

The seasonings for the chili were off.

The seasonings could be fixed. However, when I went to make the cornbread topping . .  .

What went wrong?

I wasn’t even able to mix it to the point so I could place it on the chili. I don’t think that’s how the cornbread topping was supposed to look like.

I am so bad at failure. I know that recipes are a learning process. Maybe I will try this recipe again. Not sure. But for now, I am all cooked out.

Meanwhile I ordered a pizza for dinner instead.

great replacement for failed recipe

4 responses to “Recipe Failure

  1. I get bummed when recipes don’t turn out too. I always hesitate trying something new and when I actually make the effort to do so I want it to be good. That chili +cornbread dish sounds like something I would have looked forward to too. Bummer!

  2. I’ve definitely had the nights where things didn’t go as planned and we ended up with take-out!

  3. Pingback: Fall is here! |

Leave a comment