Sick Day

Most of today was spent curled on the couch with a horrible migraine. 😦

I woke up feeling great. I managed to do a morning workout. Note to self: do those more often because I am just about always too lazy tired to work out at night. I did a 25 minute Jillian Michaels kickboxing workout, followed by 30 minutes on the elliptical. Felt awesome to move that much and at that point, I needed a hot breakfast.

I had some leftover blueberry pancakes that my wonderful husband had made me on Sunday. It was basically my Basic Pancake recipe with a cup of frozen blueberries thrown in. They were sooo good.

topped with I can't believe it's not butter light and drizzled with honey

And where would my pancake breakfast be without some bacon??

After my breakfast, I took a shower and it was at that point that I started to feel bad. I managed to dry my hair in the hopes that it would get better. I really hate calling into work. But alas, by the time I had dried my hair, I had a full fledged migraine that was not going away anytime soon.

I pretty much spent the rest of the day curled on the couch (with my cuddle companion, Callie, of course) dozing off and on and watching daytime TV.

My (very) thoughtful husband went to Whole Foods on his lunch break so that he could buy me some tomato soup. That is my all-time favorite sick food (next to grilled cheese). Unfortunately, they were out of my favorite soup (yet again). I usually get 365 Organic Creamy Tomato Basil Soup. We couldn’t get it at the store last week because they were out and apparently they were out again. Argh. Corey bought me another brand of soup that was Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato. It was okay, the flavors were nice. But it was no Creamy Tomato Basil. I’m sure you will understand why I did not take a picture of that bowl o soup. I was just not feeling in the mood for picture-taking at lunch time.

A cup of soup was all I needed to fill me up for most of the afternoon since I’m not usually very hungry when I have a migraine. Later afternoon, when hunger did strike I was feeling a bit better and I decided to be brave and make my first ever Green Monster Smoothie! I was a little nervous and I thought I would screw it up, but it came out really, really tasty.

nutritious and filling smoothie . . . just what the doctor ordered

In this smoothie was: several strawberries, a peach, a handful of spinach, a cup of fat-free milk, a couple of tablespoons of vanilla flavored whey protein powder, and several ice cubes

I actually made enough for two smoothies, so I froze some so I can have the rest for breakfast (or a midmorning snack tomorrow). It was definitely way more than I could drink today.

I also paired this smoothie with one of my Sweet Potato Blondies. Delish!

quality afternoon snack

For dinner, Corey and I had taco salad. Mmm . . . I love taco night. We make our own taco seasoning that is far superior to anything you can buy in the store. I stopped eating the store bought stuff, mainly because I realized how sensitive I am to MSG (it triggers bad migraines). But now you couldn’t pay me to go back to the store bought stuff. You can find the recipe Corey and I use for our taco seasoning here. It is so yummy.

looks gross, but it's good

I know it looks messy, but it is so tasty. It was a messy combo of meat, iceberg lettuce, and cheese. I also paired it with some unpictured tortilla chips. I would have included some peppers in this salad, but we were all out. 😦

So that is my day. Now I must go and rest so I can heal for work tomorrow. Corey and I are catching up on some DVR shows, such as Survivor. And Grey’s Anatomy premiers tonight! Woo-hoo! So many shows, so little time.

2 responses to “Sick Day

  1. Ohh! Migraines are the WORST!!! Glad you got some TLC though…and Greys. 😉

  2. Pingback: I heart leftovers |

Leave a Reply

