Moderation Nation

While reading Julie’s blog recently, I discovered that the website Moderation Nation was setting aside tons of money so that people could go see a dietician in their area for free. I was totally up for it. I have always wanted to see a dietician, but money has always been an obstacle.

I have already booked an appointment with a RD in my area (this Wednesday) and I am very excited. I do try to eat healthy, but I know that I could do better. It will be nice to get tips on ways I can eat healthier, especially since I am trying to lose weight. The RD I have an appointment with instructed me to keep a food log for three days. I have to say that I haven’t kept a food log in a long time. I even have a CD program that she mailed to me so she can analyze the food and give me a more detailed plan. It also keeps track of my calories, which I also haven’t paid attention to in a very long time. I have to say that my calorie intake has been pretty reasonable, but I’m pretty sure I could be eating more veggies.

The RD did tell me not to worry about what I am eating just because I am logging it and not to skip out on eating something just because I knew it would be going in the log. I really tried hard to do that. I couldn’t help but think about how healthy my meals were though and what she would think of my choices, especially for today.

Breakfast: one egg white with two eggs and American cheese with two slices of bacon

Green Monster Smoothie which included spinach, 1/2 c. fat free milk, several strawberries, a peach, some vanilla protein powder, and ice

Lunch at my parent: chicken, asparagus, macaroni and cheese, corn casserole, and a roll

Dessert: a yummy piece of strawberry cake (so tasty!)

I never actually had dinner because I had such a late lunch. All in all, I didn’t do too bad today. And I made the best choices I could at my parents’ house. But I enjoyed every tasty delicious bite of that macaroni and cheese (which I got seconds of!).

If anyone would like to make an appointment with a RD, you may want to check out the site. I think it’s worth it!

One response to “Moderation Nation

  1. Pingback: Meatballs and Dieticians |

Leave a Reply

