Scone Making Time!

Today was an awesome day. For the first time in a while, I had absolutely nothing to do. And I loved it. So Corey and I relaxed at home all day long . . . with our dog of course.

I started the day by sleeping in for the first time in a long time. My husband and I watched some mindless TV for a while before he made me a delicious breakfast. He was kind enough to make me some yummy blueberry pancakes, which I drizzled with some real maple syrup.

First time I’ve ever had real maple syrup and it was delicious. Mmm . . .

Not too long after that, I managed to do a nice workout. 30 day shred and then 30 minutes on the elliptical. I’m surprised I managed to do a workout on a day reserved for relaxing. But what can I say? My body craves exercise.

I didn’t actually get hungry until kind of late in the afternoon because of my late breakfast. But I knew that my hour-long workout required some kind of fuel so I prepared something light.

Lunch was a whole wheat pita with hummus, cheese, spinach, and some cucumbers. It was very light and refreshing.

The best part of the day? Apple Scones! I have been in the mood to bake all week long and I thought today would be the perfect time. I have also wanted to try my hand at making scones so Apple Scones it was.

Check out the chunks of apples!

I will post the recipe for the Scones below. They were so tasty! Full of cinnamon and apple flavor.

The rest of the day was spent just relaxing in front of the TV (of course) while my husband prepared a rotissierie chicken for dinner. Even Callie was feeling extra lazy today.

And of course Corey needed my help removing all of the chicken from the bone . . .

Corey is so funny. He will clean up after Callie when she is sick and throws up, but the thought of removing any kind of meat from a bone makes him sick. That’s okay though. I’ll go ahead and let him think he’s got the easier job. 😉

I may have eaten a few pieces of the skin while I was removing everything.

Callie even wanted in on some of the chicken action.

Along with the chicken, we had baked potato and fresh corn on the cob. So good!

And now Corey and I are attempting to make Pumpkin Spice Bagels. I’ve never made homemade bagels before so I will let you guys know tomorrow how they turn out. They may be done kind of late, but that’s okay. Tomorrow is my day off! This has been a very relaxing weekend and I have been a little stressed out at work, so I needed a couple of days off. Below is the recipe for Apple Scones. Enjoy!

Apple Scones

1 c. flour
1/4 c. granulated sugar
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
2 T. unsalted butter, chilled
1 small apple, peeled and diced
1/8 c. milk
1/8 c. unsweetened applesauce
1/2 T. granulated sugar
1/2 tsp. cinnamon, divided
1/4 tsp. nutmeg

Measure flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl. Cut in butter until crumbly. Add apple, milk, applesauce, 1/4 tsp. cinnamon, and nutmeg. Stir to form a soft dough.

Turn dough on a lightly floured surface. Knead gently 8-10 times. Pat into a 6-inch circle. Brush tops with milk, sprinkle with cinnamon, and sugar. Score into 6 pie-shaped wedges.

Bake at 425 degrees for 12-15 minutes, or until browned and risen.

tasty apple goodness

3 responses to “Scone Making Time!

  1. Nice pictures! I liked the one of you!

  2. Yum those apple scones sound delicious. Bet they’d be good with custard 🙂

  3. Wow, those scones look delicious! I have a whole basket of apples that would be perfect for this recipe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

