Pumpkin Spice Bagels

Is there anything that says fall more than pumpkin?

Recently, I received a free issue of Taste of Home: Healthy Cooking and they had a recipe that I just knew I had to try. Pumpkin Spice Bagels

I do have a bread maker, but I have never been brave enough to try my hand at making them myself. Shame on me! And due to the fact that I can’t have soy products right now, I haven’t had a bagel in forever. Side note: Soy is in everything.

This recipe seemed like the perfect opportunity and yesterday was my day of baking. I was a little nervous about how they would come out. I shouldn’t have worried. They came out so delicious and tasty, with just a hint of pumpkin spice (not too overpowering).  And even though I did not finish these until after 11:00 last night, I couldn’t resist eating one fresh out of the oven with some oven. Yummy!

See how pretty the dough is after the first stage in the bread maker

My husband shaping some bagels.

Warm bagels fresh out of the oven

Pumpkin Spice Bagels – As seen in Taste of Home Healthy Cooking

2/3 c. plus 2 T. water (70 degrees to 80 degrees), divided
1/2 c. canned pumpkin
1/3 c. brown sugar
1 tsp. salt
1  1/2 tsp. cinnamon
3/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp. ground allspice
1/2 tsp. ground cloves
3 c. bread flour
1 pkg. (1/4 oz.) active dry yeast
1 egg white
1 T. cornmeal ( this is what the recipe called for, but I only used a pinch or two. a tablespoon just seemed to be too much)

The first step could be done one of two ways. If you have a brad maker, place 2/3 c. of the water, pumpkin, brown sugar, salt, spices, flour, and yeast in order suggested by manufacturer. Select dough setting (check dough after 5 minutes of mixing; add 1 – 2 T. of water or flour if needed).

If you don’t have a bread maker, dissolve the yeast in 2/3 c. of water (110 degrees to 115 degrees) in large bowl. Add pumpkin, brown sugar, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, and cloves; mix well. Stir in enough flour to form soft dough. Turn onto lightly floured surface; knead until smooth and elastic, about 6-8 minutes. Place in a bowl coated with cooking spray, turning once to coat the top. Cover and let rise in warm place until doubled, about one hour. Punch down dough.

When cycle is completed in bread maker (or when dough has risen if doing it manually), turn dough on a lightly floured surface. Shape into nine balls. Push thumb through centers to form a 1-inch hole. Stretch and shape dough to form an even ring. Cover and let rise for 10 minutes; flatten rings slightly.

Fill Dutch oven two-thirds with water and bring to a boil. Drop bagels, two at a time, into boiling water. Cook 45 seconds; turn cook 45 seconds longer. Remove with a slotted spoon and drain on paper towels.

Whisk egg white and 1 T. water; brush over bagels. Coat baking sheet with cooking spray and sprinkle with cornmeal. Place bagels 2-inches apart on prepared pan. Bake at 400 degrees for 15 to 20 minutes or until golden brown. Remove to wire racks to cool.

I will definitely be making this recipe again! There are only a couple of changes I would make. First, I would probably add a little more cinnamon and allspice or maybe even take that out and just put in pumpkin spice instead. Also, I’m not really sure what the point of the cornmeal was and next time I may leave that out. All in all, they were super tasty.

Now I just have to figure out what to do with the leftover pumpkin in my fridge. 🙂

5 responses to “Pumpkin Spice Bagels

  1. Wow! I never would have thought of adding pumpkin to bagels. Brilliant. Don’t you just love the fall, when there’s pumpkin in everything . . . mmmmmm.

  2. You can’t call yourself a pretend cook when you’re making bagels! 😉 Those look great.

  3. ooo your bagels look so good. i could imagine myself eating one right now!

  4. Pingback: Pumpkin + Peanut Butter makes it all better |

  5. Pingback: I love to win! |

Leave a Reply

