Pumpkin + Peanut Butter makes it all better

Today was a very crummy day. I woke up with a major sore throat and a sinus headache. And . . . the symptoms kind of progressed from there.

I got through work the best way I could. I was planning on working out after work, but I did not feel up to it at all. So now I feel guilty for not exercising.

So Corey and I ordered pizza instead. This is as good a time as any to find out if mozzarella cheese is a migraine trigger. But that and several cups of hot tea with honey have really hit the spot. I have taken a few doses of Zycam, but we’ll see how well that works.

I also needed  comfort food in the form of pumpkin bread. I still had pumpkin left over from my Pumpkin Spice Bagels and I have been thinking about how to use it. After much recipe searching, I came up with a perfect recipe: Peanut Butter Pumpkin Bread! I saw a recipe for it on Taste of Home, but I made a lot of changes and modifications to make it healthier and also to up the pumpkin flavor a bit. Can’t have too much pumpkin flavor. 😉

I did overcook the edges a bit, but it was still more than edible and so very tasty! The peanut butter taste was subtle and the pumpkin flavor was just right. And it was incredibly moist!

Peanut Butter Pumpkin Bread – as adapted from Taste of Home

1 c. all-purpose flour
3/4 c. whole wheat flour
1 c. white sugar
1/2 c. brown sugar
3/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
7.5 ounces of solid pack pumpkin
2 egg whites
1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce
1/3 c. water
1/3 c. peanut butter (or any type of nut butter that you prefer)

In large bowl, combine the two flours, the sugars, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and pumpkin pie spice.  In another bowl, combine the pumpkin, egg whites, applesauce, water, and peanut butter. Stir into dry ingredients just until moistened.

Pour into greased 9-inch by 5-inch loaf pan (or two smaller loaf pans). Bake at 350 degrees for 40-50 minutes or until toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool for ten minutes before removing to wire racks to cool. Makes 16 slices.

3 responses to “Pumpkin + Peanut Butter makes it all better

  1. OMGoodness! I love Pumpkin and Peanut Butter together! Its the bomb.com!
    I will have to try that!!

  2. Hope you’re feeling better!!! And I forgot to ask…did you get the emails about the Atlanta blogger meet up??

Leave a comment