The Article

Up until now, I have refrained from responding to the article . . . mostly because I have had better things to talk about. And because there have been quite a few bloggers that have discussed this far better than I ever could. If you’ve been living under a rock and don’t know what article I am referring to, you can read it here.

I thought that as a healthy living blogger I should give my thoughts.

As someone who reads the all of the blogs of “The Big 6” (and let’s face it, that is a nickname that Marie Claire seems to be the only one who knows about), I do believe that the article was extremely one-sided. Quotes were taken out of context, posts were misinterpreted or just lied about completely, etc.

That being said, I do think that the article raised points that needed to be raised. These points have even been raised ourselves within the blogging community. How much responsibility do we have for what people read? Are we responsible if what we post triggers someone or causes an eating disorder?

I think the answers are complicated and there is no yes or no answer. More and more, people are turning to the Internet and blogs as a source of information. Blogs are becoming just as popular as mainstream magazines, such as Marie Claire. We are very quick to call Marie Claire hypocritical for saying what they did when they have models that are a size 2 and they have articles that hardly boost a girl’s self-esteem. If we can place the magazines for contributing to the problem of eating disorders, then we can’t dismiss the notion that what we put out there in our blogs may do the same thing.

That being said, I also think there is some responsibility among the readers. If there is a blog that triggers you, don’t read it. Just last week, I stopped reading a blog (I won’t name names) because this blogger was way too concerned with numbers on a scale and with feeling guilty because she ate something that she considered “bad” (by the way, I don’t think there is a “bad” food). The last thing I need is to start comparing myself, my weight loss, and what I eat to this blogger. It is a slippery slope to the unhealthy way I lived before, when I ate 900-1000 calories a day while exercising for 2 hours.

I know this is probably a little of a rant, but I just wanted to say that we all share some responsibility. Bloggers can’t dismiss the notion that what they say influences others any more than a magazine who refuses to place any model above a size 2 on their cover can.

I have learned a lot from the blogging community. The blogs I do read are written by wonderful women who live a balanced life and love their bodies. Those are lessons that I try to absorb every day.

But if I do feel a little guilt from the fact that I haven’t exercised in a couple of days, don’t tell Marie Claire. They may assume I have an eating disorder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

