Breakfast

I really wish I liked oatmeal.

I read about a lot of bloggers who find that to be a filling breakfast. And there are multiple mix-ins for the oatmeal . . . nut butters, fruits, pumpkin, different spices. The choices are kind of endless so you can never get too bored but it still fills you up.

Unfortunately,  just the thought of eating oatmeal kind of makes me sick. I blame my daycare provider when I was young. I didn’t want to eat the oatmeal she provided so she did what any normal person would do. She forced me to sit at the table until I had eaten the oatmeal . . . and I was a very stubborn child. But she waited me out, which meant that inevitably I would be eating cold oatmeal. Have you ever eaten cold oatmeal? Gag me.

So now my memories of oatmeal are kind of tangled up in eating it cold. Weird, huh? And maybe it’s a texture thing too. I would prefer it if it were more creamy, but instead it’s just lumpy and . . . kind of disgusting.

So I have to try to keep my breakfasts interesting. Some days I have scrambled eggs and bacon.

favorite breakfast of all!

Other days, I may have cereal with fruit . . . .

some puffins and shredded wheat with strawberries

or a Green Monster Smoothie that is sure to fill me up

A wonderfully decadent breakfast that I adore is pancakes! Typically, those are reserved for Sunday mornings . . . and not every Sunday morning because they are considered to be a treat for me. I’m not sure why pancakes are considered a treat because they can certainly be healthy, but they just are.

The thing I love most about pancakes is that there are always enough leftovers to last most of the week, mainly because I am the only one who eats them in our house.

Today was one of those mornings in which I had leftover blueberry pancakes. And they were just as tasty as the first day they were made. Today, I put a little butter on them and I put peanut butter on them for the first time. How is it that I have never eaten this combo before. Sooo good . . . and it was really nice to get a healthy fat with my breakfast for once. 😉

I may not like oatmeal, but I still manage to eat breakfasts that are pretty darn delicious (and filling too). 🙂

2 responses to “Breakfast

  1. I think you just have to find what works for you! I have yet to try a “green monster” 🙂

  2. Pingback: Out with the Old |

Leave a Reply

