I love to win!

Last week, I won a blog giveaway for the first time. Woo-hoo! The giveaway was hosted by Paige at Running Around Normal. The other day, I received my goodies. I won a couple of packages of Sahale snacks. I tried them immediately and I have to say that the people of Sahale make some pretty good nuts.

I received a package of Valdosta pecans . . .

The package describes them as being made with cranberries, black pepper, and orange zest. I loved these pecans! I think my only complaint was that I couldn’t really taste the black pepper enough. But I loved the blend of cranberries and orange and there was just a touch of heat.

The second package kind of reminded me of something you would find in a Chinese dish.

The bag consisted of cashews that were made with pineapple, peanuts, and Chinese chili. I loved these as well. It was such an interesting combination of flavors and these were a little bit more savory than sweet (unlike the other ones).

My favorite was definitely the Valdosta pecans, but I loved both of them. So much better than plain nuts! And the best part?? Both flavors had all natural ingredients. Knowing that they were spiced nut mixtures, I was worried that there would be MSG or some other type of “natural” flavoring. But I could pronounce every single one of the ingredients and I knew what all of them were . . . just nuts and some spices! I would totally recommend them. You can go on the website to check which stores in your area carry them.

So today my husband left for a business trip and won’t be back until Friday evening. 😦 I will miss him, but I am still kind of excited at all the alone time I will be getting. I need some quality “me” time.

When I got off work, I knew that it would be easier to work out because Corey wasn’t going to be home (side note: he does NOT work out with me at all). I knew it would be tough to push myself to do it because as usual, I was feeling super tired.

But I came home and turned on Jillian Michaels 30 day shred. Today, I decided to mute her (it’s not like I don’t know the workout anyway) and put on some of my music to play instead. I LOVED this. I will have to do it more often. The workout went by faster, I wasn’t as focused on the time, and I actually pushed myself harder.

After that, I wanted to do 30 minutes on the elliptical. However, I ended up cutting my workout short by 5 minutes. Yes  I know, call the exercise police. But I hadn’t eaten anything in 6 hours (big mistake) and hunger was quickly setting in. So in the future, a) pre-workout fuel is important and b) the world will not end because I worked out for 55 minutes instead o 60. 🙂

After my workout, I immediately ate half of my last Pumpkin Spice Bagel with some honey roasted peanut butter before preparing dinner. I have to make more of those bagels because they are awesome! FYI: peanut butter is quickly becoming my favorite food.

Dinner was awesome! I made myself some Sloppy Joes. Whenever Corey goes out of town, I make this dish because it’s quick and because he doesn’t like them so we can never have them when he’s home. It’s also nice because you can make them using the slow cooker. The slow cooker is probably the best invention ever. Just throw a bunch of ingredients in there and you have dinner by the time you get home. I will leave you with my recipe for Sloppy Joes and then I will relax for the rest of the night. I am so wiped out!

Sloppy Joe on whole wheat pita with some cheese . . . yummy!

Slow Cooker Sloppy Joes (serves 2)

1/2 lb. lean ground beef
1/2 c. chopped green and yellow pepper
1/4 c. ketchup
1/2 tsp. onion powder
dash of salt
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
1/8 tsp. mustard
1/4 tsp. chili powder
dash of cayenne pepper (or more to taste)
couple of dashes of Frank’s Red Hot Sauce (optional)

Mix all ingredients in slow cooker and cook on low for 3 to 4 hours, or until heated through.

4 responses to “I love to win!

  1. Nice! Woohoo!

  2. I bet those pecans were amazing. Sweet dried cranberries and salty nuts (TWSS) – count me in!!!!!!!!

  3. What a great idea to mute the TV and put music on. I’ve never thought of that but it’s SO smart!

  4. Pingback: Work Schedule |

Leave a Reply

