Work Schedule

Most people are excited about the fact that today is Friday. Unfortunately, I am not. For me, the weekend does not start for me until tomorrow. I have kind of weird hours so I actually work on Saturdays. Usually, the days that I work are Tuesdays through Saturdays. I say usually because next week I will be working on Monday so technically, I won’t be having much of a weekend. Such is the life of a counselor. πŸ™‚

Honestly though, I have never been one of those people who spend all week waiting for the weekend. I feel like we should enjoy every day as it comes. When you think about it, the weekend only lasts for 2 days. If we spend our whole lives just waiting for the weekend, then we are basically wishing 75% of our lives away. How about any readers out there? Do you guys wish for the weekend all week or what?

So I started my ordinary next to the last day of work for the week with an awesome breakfast. Seriously . . . it was so good and filling!

I had two eggs and an egg white with hot sauce. With that, I had some toasted pita bread and almond butter and some fresh blueberry jelly. Yummy! It was the most filling breakfast I have eaten in a while. Guess it was the almond butter.

I didn’t have to be at work until later, so I was able to catch up on some blogs, watch some TV, clean our mess of a kitchen, and play with my dog for a bit. Once I got to work though, it was full steam ahead and I was busy, busy, busy!

I work five days a week and three of those days are days that I actually counsel patients. I have other duties the other days. But on the counseling days, things are so rushed that I usually have to bring something to eat for lunch that I can eat very quickly in between patients. I know it isn’t healthy, but I pretty much just eat as fast as I can. At least I eat as healthy as I can!

Lunch was the last of my leftover chili. 😦 I LOVE that this lasted me all week. I also had a little container of cottage cheese with it. Weird combo, I know, but I needed something a little extra to keep me full for longer. And it totally did the trick.

I had an afternoon snack of some purple grapes that I bought at Whole Foods recently. These are so darn good!

Interesting fact: I never even tried purple grapes until several years ago. Before that, I had just eaten green grapes. But when I tried purple, I fell in love. They are so much better than the green ones!

After work, Corey and I came home and went for a run before dinner. The weather was so nice! As I explained in a previous post, I am just now getting back into running and I am doing the C25K program. I think it is a great program for getting my “running legs” back.

The first week of the program involves 60 seconds of jogging, followed by 90 seconds of walking. There were times when I felt that I could have run longer than 60 seconds. But I am sticking to the 60 minute guideline because this is the first time I have run in almost two months. Plus, the last time I ran I had a bad knee. I don’t want to push myself.

The only thing that is tricky is that I have to remember to stretch! Seriously, I’m not lazy; I’m just forgetful. I didn’t remember that stretching was a priority until three hours later!

After our run, dinner was a simple meal of a hamburger patty with sweet potato fries. Yummy!

Now I am going to rest up. My legs are a bit sore from tonight’s run and I do have to wake up bright and early for work tomorrow. Hope everyone else enjoys their Saturday! πŸ™‚

Funny conversation with my husband:

Today, I discovered that I won something else from a blog giveaway. Of course, there was the time I won the nuts. And now, I found out I won The Granola cereal by Rude Health, thanks to Jemma at Celery and Cupcakes. Yay!

When I told my husband, he said, “When are you going to win something that I will eat . . . like Krispy Kreme donuts?”

“Umm . . . I don’t think that’s going to happen.” πŸ™‚

Yes, this is my husband. But if any bloggers out there learn of any donut giveaways, please let me know. My husband would be very happy. πŸ˜‰

4 responses to “Work Schedule

  1. Do let me know what you think of The Granola. Enjoy.
    Camilla

  2. Mm…donuts…
    I wish the weekend was longer too, but I really shouldn’t complain since I don’t have classes on Fridays, which means I have Fri, Sat, and Sunday off…but then, as a student, I really don’t have any days off since I’m swamped with work all the time.

  3. I love your perspective about the workweek! I definitely look forward to weekends the most but I enjoy my days too, so it helps to be able to find something each day to look forward to!

  4. I love weekends but I definitely try to enjoy each day for what it brings as well. I don’t dread Monday through Friday. Anyone who dreads it that much to where they can only enjoy life on the weekends should probably find another job. Or whatever drives them crazy during that time.

Leave a Reply

