Day of Rest

Today was a day where I wanted to do . . . absolutely nothing.

Corey suggested that we get out of the house and buy a Christmas tree. I convinced him that Christmas decorating could wait a weekend. After working on the day after Thanksgiving, as well as yesterday, I just needed a break. Plus, this was the first weekend in a while where I didn’t have anything planned and I didn’t get a migraine. Score! ย ๐Ÿ™‚

Corey graciously allowed me to sleep in ย while he took care of Callie. After I woke up, I ate some leftover Pumpkin Pancakes from Thanksgiving morning.

The next several hours were spent relaxing on the couch with Corey, while we pretty much watched every single thing we had recorded on the DVR. I have never seen the DVR with so much space! After a while, Corey and Callie fell into a deep sleep while I watched TV and surfed the web, catching up on blogs and such.

For lunch, I enjoyed some leftover Hungry Girl chili from the other day. Chili is sooo much better the next day. We should just make a bunch of chili, pop it in the fridge, and eat it the next day. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I actually added some kidney beans to the chili in order to add some more nutrients. Why didn’t we just add the beans to begin with? Because Corey hates beans. This is just one of the compromises I make for my husband. ๐Ÿ™‚

This lunch was extremely filling and the perfect lunch for a cold day.

After lunch, Corey actually wanted to do something. The horror! But the something he wanted to do was bake a pound cake. I have no problem with taking time out of our day for baking.

While he was baking, I decided to make myself useful and I cleaned out our cabinets. And our refrigerator. They needed some organization badly.

This is what our cabinets looked like before . . .

And after.

Here is our refrigerator before . . .

And after.

Do you see how many leftovers I have?? I think I have a problem with hoarding or something. Among the leftovers are leftover pumpkin (which I plan on using tomorrow) kidney beans, corn, pumpkin pancakes, Hungry Girl chili, sweet potato casserole I made on Thanksgiving, leftover chicken strips that Corey and I made a week ago, leftover pasta with chicken, a pecan pie my grandmother made me for Thanksgiving, and a hamburger patty that Corey made me the other day. Talk about a lot of food! But don’t worry, I plan on eating every single bite.

In the midst of all the cleaning I had an afternoon snack. I snacked on some Trader Joe’s Triple Gingersnap cookies.

I think these are my new addiction! Maybe Trader Joe’s isn’t so bad after all. All I know is these cookies are amazing and I have to stop myself from eating more than one serving.

The cleaning took a while and Corey and I planted ourselves on the couch to relax from all our hard work. Just about the time his pound cake was ready, our TV broke! After much research, Corey determined that the lamp burned out in the television set and we needed a new one. I didn’t even know that could happen!

We weren’t sure if we could get the part or not. It was already kind of late and it actually took a while for Corey to find a store that carried the part. We thought we would have to order it online, in which case our television set would be out of commission for the next couple of days. Ouch!

Luckily, we found a store that carried the proper part and he fixed it in no time at all. My hero!

hard at work

For dinner, neither one of us wanted to cook so we ordered some chicken fajitas from a local Mexican place, Pappasitos. This place has the BEST fajitas I have ever tasted.

They make their tortillas by hand at the restaurant and the chicken is incredibly moist. They also have awesome guacamole!

With the fajitas, I had some tortilla chips with salsa and guacamole. Yummy!

I am sure you’re wondering why we didn’t eat leftovers for dinner. If it were up to me, we would have. However, my beloved husband despises leftovers. I suppose the exception would be cake. But don’t we all have that exception?

I’m not worried about being able to eat all that food though. Corey is going out of town later this week. He is actually going to be gone for the next few weeks (except for weekends). I love leftovers when he is out of town. It is lonely cooking for one , so all these leftovers will be great for when I am all alone.

I guess that’s all for now! Our television is fixed and Corey and I are going to spend some more quality time together. We both have the day off tomorrow (for once!) so we will get to spend even more time together before his many upcoming trips.

One response to “Day of Rest

  1. Yay for TJ. Yay for leftovers!

Leave a Reply

