Back to the Grind

I did NOT want to get up this morning.

After several days of being able to sleep in, I had to get up bright and early so that I could make it into work.

Even if I wasn’t happy about dragging myself out of bed, I was happy about getting back to a routine and back to eating on the healthier side.

I started out the morning with leftover Pumpkin Pancakes. Yummy!

I wanted a nice pear to go with that, but alas I could not find them. Later, I found out it was because Corey put them in a place that we don’t usually keep them. That also explained the case of the missing grapes.

 

Note to my husband: This is NOT the drawer we keep that stuff in!

 

Traffic going to work was awful! It wasn’t raining when I left for work (just a slight drizzle, but there were still two car accidents on my route to work. What usually takes me 30 minutes took me an hour and fifteen minutes. Luckily, I had my Christmas CD I made yesterday and it wasn’t too bad. Singing along made the long car ride somewhat more enjoyable. I also listened to it throughout the day at work. I am definitely in the holiday spirit. 🙂

For my midmorning snack, I ate some watermelon that I had purchased at Publix a few days ago. Good thing too because the sell by date was yesterday.

I paired the watermelon with some low fat cottage cheese.

I forget how good watermelon is. It’s so sweet and juicy. Who says watermelon is just for summer?

For lunch, I had leftover pasta.

Mmm . . . it was a simple dish of whole wheat pasta, 365 organic pasta sauce, and cooked chicken. It was super tasty for being a week old! the only problem was that I think I put a bit too much red pepper in the pasta sauce. It was a little too spicy. Is that even possible? This dish was very filling though.

An afternoon snack consisted of the rest of the watermelon from earlier in the day. I also had my new favorite snack, rice cakes and Trader Joe’s pumpkin cream cheese.

I am so addicted to this stuff! Last week, I went through a container in one week. I wonder if this week will be the same.

I’m glad I had a filling snack. I knew I would need it for the treacherous drive home. It was pouring rain at this point. I tried to leave a little bit early because Atlanta traffic is a nightmare when there is bad weather . . . or anytime between 6:00 am and 10:00 am and 3:00 pm and 7:00 pm. 🙂

Speaking of getting back to the grind, I really need to start exercising again on a regular basis. When I got home, I tried to make excuses for not working out. I even cleaned. But eventually, I dragged myself off the couch, put on my workout clothes and did an awesome workout. I did Jillian Michaels’ kickboxing DVD, as well as 40 minutes on the elliptical. My quads are sore, but I feel awesome! I really pushed myself on both workouts, so I feel great now. 🙂

One response to “Back to the Grind

  1. It’s sooo rough going back to work when you’re in holiday mode. To be honest, I’m still in holiday mode and anticipating Christmas season.

Leave a Reply

