Rocky Start

Got off to a rough start this morning.

Breakfast: 2 eggs, 3 egg whites, some cheese and hot sauce and bacon! My favorite

I thought I was supposed to be at work at 11:00. Apparently, I blanked on the fact that the schedule had changed and we were supposed to be in at 9:30. I didn’t know this until the other counselor called me at 10:00 am. Apparently, she had forgotten as well so there were no counselors at work. D’oh. Luckily, I was already dressed and getting ready to leave anyway. I rushed to work, only to discover that there were only two patients today. So they didn’t really miss us that much. Huge sigh of relief.

After the stress of realizing I was an hour late for work, I decided to have dessert before my lunch. I needed it.
Snack before lunch: a handful of TJ’s triple gingersnaps

The cookies actually kept me hungry so I didn’t eat lunch until kind of late.

Delicious burger bowl: rice, corn, broccoli, a hamburger patty and generous amounts of ketchup and mustard

Lunch kept me full for hours . . . until I left work. Callie was at doggy daycare and I wanted to get some grocery shopping done before picking her up. It’s a little weird shopping without Corey. But he’s out of town until late tomorrow night, which is typically our grocery night. The last thing I want is to spend the two days he is here going from store to store.

 

My grocery list!

 

I am serious about my lists. Every week, I am in charge of coming up with a menu for the week (not easy considering how much of a picky eater Corey is) and the grocery list. If you notice on the list, I put abbreviations next to the food items that require a different store (Trader Joe’s, Farmer’s Market, etc.).

Corey and I have a strict budget for groceries. Normally, Corey is in charge of crossing things off the list while I am in charge of the calculator and figuring out how much we have spent. It was not easy doing both at the same time. But somehow I managed. πŸ™‚

Now I just have to go to Trader Joe’s and Sam’s Club. This weekend a trip to the Farmer’s Market will be in order!

After the grocery store, I was starving. It may seem weird after buying all that food, but I needed to get something to eat. I still had an hour drive, not to mention another errand to run. If I waited to eat, I would be grumpy and probably feel like eating off my own arm! I was tempted to stop by Wendy’s, which I haven’t eaten in months, thank you very much. But I resisted temptation and got Subway instead. I was very pleased with my healthy decision.

Unfortunately, I did not take any pictures because I pretty much inhaled the food the second I got in my car. I bought a roast beef with lettuce, pickles, green peppers, banana peppers, low fat mayo, and spicy mustard. It was the best sandwich I’ve had in a while, probably because I was so hungry. πŸ™‚

Because I had already eaten, I was able to do my work out right when I got home. I was determined to do something. So I did Jillian Michaels Quick Trouble Zones on demand. I thought the workout would be 25 minutes, but it was 15. It was a good workout, but not enough. I wanted to do the elliptical, but I only got in ten minutes before I quit. I don’t know why I quit, except I was exhausted from not sleeping, I was feeling lightheaded, and I had other stuff to do and it was getting late.

I am trying not to feel guilty about only doing 25 minutes. Something is better than nothing, right? I have always been of the mindset that if the workout doesn’t last an hour, it’s just not worth it. But my quads say otherwise. 15 minutes or 25, Jillian Michaels will still kick my butt. πŸ™‚

Now I am relaxing with a whole wheat bagel, topped with TJ’s pumpkin cream cheese (LOVE this stuff!!!).

One response to “Rocky Start

  1. I eat hot sauce on eggs too – it’s so gooood!

Leave a Reply

