Miracle of the Slow Cooker

I love my slow cooker. And for some reason, I don’t use it nearly enough.

Today, I changed all that and I made my first ever beef stew! Considering the fact that I can’t eat broth (due to MSG), I didn’t think I would be able to make some beef stew. But I determined that I could use water. I actually saw several different recipes on Sparkpeople and came up with one of my own.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew (serves 2-3)

1/2 lb. beef stew meat
2 red potatoes, chopped (I did not peel them)
about a 1 cup of baby carrots
1/2 a can of fire roasted tomatoes
1.5 cups of water
salt, pepper, paprika, and italian seasoning to taste (could use whatever herbs and seasonings you want)

Mix all ingredients in slow cooker and cook on low for 4 hours (or until tender). When it’s done mix 1/8 cup of flour with 1/4 cup of cold water. Take flour mixture and pour over simmering liquid in slow cooker. Let it thicken. Enjoy!

It was a wonderfully filling meal. It was also the perfect thing to eat in this cold weather. It warmed me to my bones.

The best thing is that now I have a hearty bowl of strew to enjoy tomorrow for lunch at work.

One other thing: I enjoyed my first candy cane of the season!

I ordered a Christmas gift for my mother from Etsy (best site ever!) and the woman who shipped it to me gave me a candy cane with it. How sweet is that? 🙂

I was also feeling a little down in the dumps today, but that’s a post for another day. Besides, talking with my husband (even though it was via Skype) made me feel somewhat better.

I guess Callie could sense my mood because she decided she wanted to curl up with me on the couch (even though she has been on her little blanket all day). And now she is snoring next to me. She is the best medicine. 🙂

Goodnight everyone!

3 responses to “Miracle of the Slow Cooker

  1. Mmm. Your beef stew looks delicious – comfort food at it’s finest!

  2. I love using the slow cooker this time of year! Your stew looks so yummy and comforting.

  3. Pingback: A lot of wasted food |

Leave a Reply

