A lot of wasted food

By the way, I’m going to apologize in advance for these bad pictures. I took most of them at work and flourescent lighting does not make or good photography.

Today started off well enough.

I started the day with some Pumpkin Pancakes and a little maple syrup.

For lunch, I had some leftover Pizza Pot Pie from last night.

And that’s when things just went downhill. I had some cottage cheese that I mixed with blueberries.

This was actually a brand of cottage cheese that  I had never eaten before. It was all natural with no preservatives. I don’t know if it was just the brand or the fact that it was all natural, but it tasted awful. It actually smelled like glue. That can’t be normal, right? I could not eat more than two bites. Yech.

So I had a handful of these with my lunch instead.

Cookies never fail. 🙂

A few hours later, I was hungry for a snack (no surprise there).  Now when I am working a full day a work (or any amount of hours at work really), I make sure that I pack plenty of snacks so that I don’t go hungry. Eating on a regular basis is so important. One of the snacks I brought were carrots with hummus.

However, the carrots tasted funny. Maybe that’s because they were a few days past their expiration date? Since the expiration date was only a few days ago, I expected them to be okay. Not so much . . . I could only eat a few carrots before I threw them away.

The next thing that was packed in my lunchbox was a red pear. I had never even seen a red pear until they appeared at the Farmer’s Market. I bought one because I was curious about the taste.

I think the pear was a little too ripe because it was very soft and mushy. I didn’t much like the taste either. Needless to say, the pear got tossed in the trash as well. All of this wasted food was disheartening. I hate wasting food with a passion.

I left work early, partly because it was slow and partly because I was hungry. I wanted to go to Publix and see if they had the honey wheat pretzel sticks that I love so much. Yes, I am picky about my pretzels and this was my fourth store that I went to in order to purchase them.

Luckily, the trip was a success! And as soon as I got in the car, I tore into the bag. I was starving. Apparently, after four hours of not eating anything I was starting to get a headache.

When I got home, I also made a snack of 365 organic Mighty Multigrain bread with some Peanut Butter Co. White Chocolate peanut butter and a little honey.

So after those two snacks, my afternoon turned around.

There was one other bright spot to my day. The second I walked in my door out of the 20 degree weather, the smell of Slow Cooker Beef Stew hit my nose. It was so welcoming and smelled super delicious!

The stew was a nice and hearty meal and really warmed me to the bone. It was also the best thing I ate all day!

Now I am trying to work up the strength to crawl out from under the space heater and work out. I do not have the heat on so it’s almost as cold in my house as it is outside.

8 responses to “A lot of wasted food

  1. I hate when that happens to me, especially at work. I’ll bring an apple it and it will be mealy, or something else just won’t taste right and then I sit around hungry the rest of the day with a vending machine right outside my door. It’s the worst. I’m bringing hummus with carrots today (and my carrots are a few days old). Hopefully they’ll taste okay, but after reading about yours I’m not so sure…

  2. Pizza Pot Pie sounds absolutely amazing. I think I might have to give that a try.

    xo

  3. I totally agree. Cookies never fail and even a lot isn’t enough!

  4. Pizza pot pie sounds right up my ally! Stay warm! 😉

  5. I love pumpkin pancakes 🙂 They make every day a little better! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  6. I hate wasting food too, but sometimes you just don’t have a choice. I hope you got the energy to go work out though! It can be hard to get out, but once you do, you’re almost always glad you did :-).

  7. I hate when I pack my meals and get to work to find out something isnt good! BOO!

    … btu cookies are a delicious fix!

  8. I had spoiled cottage cheese once and it was so disgusting I haven’t eaten it since 😦

Leave a Reply

