Back to Reality

Today was my first day of work of 2011. I haven’t been at work since December 22nd and I had a very nice break. But it was time to get back to life and to reality. It had to happen eventually.

Even though I went to bed at a decent hour, I still struggled to get up this morning. After a week and a half of sleeping in, getting up at a 6:30 alarm was tough. I started the day with a new favorite: egg and bacon sandwich with cheese and hot sauce. I also added some spinach to add an extra nutritional boost.

When I got to work, I had an awesome surprise. My boss left a late Christmas present on my desk. It was a Borders gift card for $100. Woo-hoo!

I have spent half of it in my head already. And since they sell lots of fitness DVD’s too, then I will probably get a couple of books and a couple of DVD’s to add some nice variety to my workouts.

Work was actually very busy today. Since I hadn’t been to work in a while, there was lots of paperwork to catch up on. I had a midmorning snack of a couple of clementines.

A little while later, I had a nice lunch of some leftover chili. Chili just gets better the longer it remains in the refrigerator! ๐Ÿ™‚

I also had a couple of Hershey kisses that were in the office break room.

I guess I should be thankful that too much chocolate gives me a headache. Otherwise, I may have taken a few more pieces. ๐Ÿ˜‰

The afternoon passed by quickly. I ate an afternoon snack of grapes and a couple of handfuls of Peanut Butter Puffins (unpictured).

After work, I had been thinking that I would do some more strength training as my workout for today. However, yesterday’s run left me feeling a lot more sore than I thought I would be. My calves are killing me. I guess a 40 minute jog/walk still takes a toll on my body when I haven’t run in months. I am determined to continue my training so that I can get stronger and more fit.

My calves weren’ t the only things that were sore. I did Jackie Warner’s total body circuit workout on Saturday (New Years’ Day!) and my body is still feeling the effects. My triceps and abs hurt the most. I guess my first workout of the year was a good one. ๐Ÿ™‚ So with all those sore muscles, I decided to use today as a rest day. I feel guilty every time I take one and to take a rest day this early in the week makes me feel extra guilty.

Part of living a healthy, balanced lifestyle is to listen to my body and give it what it needs. I shouldn’t feel guilty about taking a day off so that my muscles can recover . . . as long as one day of rest doesn’t turn into five. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I am really determined to continue this streak that I’ve been on throughout the year.

I was pretty hungry after work. After yesterday’s rice bowl at Moe’s, I was craving something somewhat similar.

This bowl consisted of brown rice, some hamburger meat, corn, and kidney beans. I added healthy amounts of ketchup and mustard. It was super tasty and filling. I think that next time I may add some sautรฉed peppers for more veggie power.

And now the rest of the night will be spent relaxing in front of the television and hanging out with my husband. ๐Ÿ™‚

19 responses to “Back to Reality

  1. I could go for some grapes right now! I ate my weight in them on NYE and haven’t had any since ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. I have to agree with you on the chili – only gets better! I love bacon and egg sandwiches!

  3. Good job listening to your body! Sounds like you had some great workouts.

  4. You have a nice boss! A $100 gift card to Borders – SCORE!

  5. What an awesome boss, I love Borders! And today was also my first day back, I kind of have the post-holiday blues, but at the same time it’s nice to be back in the swing of things.

  6. I love left over chilli! I agree that it always tastes so much better a few days later.

  7. thanks for the comment ๐Ÿ™‚

    and i am TOTALLY JEALOUS of your $100 borders card. i could spend thousands of dollars at borders in a matter of seconds. i love books!!!

  8. Love the rice bowl! I hate getting back to reality – busy at work, tight jeans, etc. The last few days have been tough to cut out sweets and things that I didn’t think twice about eating a few weeks ago! But I guess that’s why my jeans are tight ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. annnd now i’m craving a moe’s rice bowl! they are so yummy!

    Looks like a pretty yummy and healthy day of eating! Go you! ooh! and Nice to meet ya! =)

    xoXOxo
    jenn

  10. Have fun at the bookstore!

    Hmm.I have never thought to try “burger rice” …mine will have to be with a boca, though!

    ~Missy

  11. Awesome surprise Christmas gift! If you’re looking for new workout DVDs, I just ordered Jillian’s new 6 Week 6 Pack DVD and tried it this morning–loved it! It combines cardio with full-body moves for a full 30 minutes (instead of the traditional on-the-floor-the-whole-time mat work you usually see for abs).

    Hope you have a great day!

  12. Thanks for stopping by my blog and your nice comments! Happy New Year to you!

  13. A $100 Borders gift card?!?! I want to work where you work. I love that place! Not just for the books but the hot chocolate, too.

  14. Pingback: He’s home! |

Leave a Reply

