Eat more Veggies

First of all, I would just like to thank all of you for your encouraging words after yesterday’s post. All of your remarks really meant a lot to me. It means a lot to know that I am not alone in this struggle and I have so much support from the blogging community. πŸ™‚

I did feel much better today. But for some reason, I haven’t been hungry first thing in the morning. Maybe I’m eating too late at night? I didn’t get hungry until 10:00 am (about half an hour before I was to leave for work), so I wanted something quick and light.

 

snap, crackle, pop!

 

Yes, I had Rice Krispies. I rarely have cereal for breakfast, mostly because it’s not super filling. But I figured lunch wasn’t that far away, so I would be fine. I did have a couple of clementines with my cereal though.

I forgot how good clementines are. Sweet and refreshing.

After breakfast, I went to work. It was so busy. It’s the busy season, I guess. Lots of patients! But the day passed quickly and before long, it was lunch time.

I had a sandwich with organic multigrain bread, a hamburger patty, a fried egg, and some spinach. I also put a little hot sauce on it. Weird combination, but it totally worked. I think sandwiches are a great way to get a few veggies in. I put spinach on every single one!Β Does anyone have any good sandwich ideas?

Snack was a combination of whole grain crackers, carrots, and white chocolate peanut butter.

I have to confess something. I’m not a huge fan of carrots and I only ate a few of them. I think I need more hummus. I like carrots and hummus. Carrots and peanut butter? Not so much. πŸ™‚ The crackers and the peanut butter were a great combination though.

I also had lots of red grapes.

I got off work at a decent time today and I was looking forward to a run! It was day 2 of my first week of 10K training. It was in the 40’s, but I wasn’t cold. The weather felt great!

I’m really proud of myself for working out at all. I was extremely tired, not to mention that I was thisclose to finishing my book, “The Hunger Games” (which I have finished at this time and it’s phenomenal). But I forced myself to put on my running clothes and I’m glad I did. It was a great way to decompress after my long day and it was nice to spend a little one-on-one time with my husband . . . and my dog, of course.

After our run, we were both starving. So we went to work on dinner.

We had a pork chop, some mashed potatoes, corn, and some zucchini that I roasted with olive oil and cajun seasoning. Yummy! Another confession: I have a love/hate relationship with zucchini. I’m really particular about how it’s cooked. I have to force myself to eat it, not because I hate the flavor, but because I’m not used to it. The spices I used tonight were new and I liked them. Are there any vegetables that you try to “make” yourself like?

By the way, how did you like the new yellow dishes and pretty placemat that I used for my food? I bought them at Crate and Barrel specifically so that I could enhance the pictures of my food on the blog. I love them! Expect to see more of them on the blog. πŸ™‚

19 responses to “Eat more Veggies

  1. Your new plates are so vibrant! I love them!

  2. Try this sandwich…I think it will fit nicely in your healthy lifestyle .
    http://boomercuisine.com/2010/08/25/a-l-t-sandwich/
    Aron

  3. you definitely need more hummus, nut hummus!!! So good with everything. Glad today was better. Have a great weekend friend.

  4. I love the plates – they really brighten up the meal!
    PS – Your dinner looks especially delicious! πŸ™‚

  5. Your dishware/decor is adorbs! I love Crate & Barrel. And might I add, those mashed potatoes look scrummy. I suddenly want some and it’s like 10 a.m.

  6. Your sandwich sounds good.. hamburger and egg. Yum!

  7. I used to try and make myself enjoy eggplant then one day I woke up and loved it. Your food looks really good. I found when I have a late dinner I’m not hungry in the am either.

    • Hollie, thanks for the comment. I think I am going to try not to eat so late in the future and see if that helps. I have actually never tried eggplant, but it’s on my list of new veggies to try. Any recommendations on how to cook it?

  8. Tell me more about the white chocolate PB….

    • It’s so good! Have you not tried it?? It’s made by Peanut Butter & Co. It’s usually found in the pb aisles of the grocery store. If you can’t find it in your area, I believe you can order it online from their website. It’s the best pb ever!

  9. I’m not a huge sandwich person, but I really love a good cheese, like feta or goat, with an apple in the middle πŸ™‚

  10. “Are there any vegetables that you try to β€œmake” yourself like?”

    I’m not big on broccoli but I don’t eat it very often. One thing I do have to force myself to eat are eggs. Blech! They taste gross but I need the protein so I eat them!
    (Coated in hot sauce so they don’t taste quite so egg-y!;))

  11. Your rice crispy treats are like pancakes for me..I only make them in the morning if I’m not super hungry because they hardly do anything for satiety.

    Glad you had a good run with your husband and pup. πŸ™‚

  12. I’ll eat all the carrots for you πŸ˜‰ haha. I can quite easily polish off a 1-lb bag in one day. By myself. Without hummus. Though they’re better with, of course πŸ˜‰

    I used to HATE brussels sprouts, as do most people, but now that I’ve learned to roast them I adore them. Basically am a fan of every vegetable under the sun. People tell me I eat like a rabbit…

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!!

Leave a Reply

