Setting Goals

I have been thinking about goals a lot lately.

I have some goals that I would like to accomplish this year. However, I have started to get a little overwhelmed. This is mainly due to the fact that I have a lot of “mini-goals” I want to accomplish as well. I am trying to realize that I don’t have to do everything at once. And if it takes a little time to realize my goals, that is okay.

I have decided that I will set mini-goals for myself every month. This way, I can take baby steps to reach my full potential this year and I won’t feel so overwhelmed by trying to do everything at once. That is a sure path to failure.

Since it is already late January, I am going to set a goal for the rest of January, as well as February. I have two goals: a nutrition goal and a fitness goal.

1. Nutrition Goal – Over the next month, I will try at least two new vegetables. So far this year, I still struggle to eat enough vegetables and I haven’t tried a single new one yet. Hopefully, having a set goal during this time period with a set number will allow me to move out of my comfort zone.

2. Fitness Goal – I will do Jackie Warner total body circuit at least three days a week. As much as I dislike cardio, I still find that I focus on that more than strength. I haven’t been working out as much as I’d like to, although this week I have been knocking those workouts out. 🙂 I bounce around from workout to workout (which isn’t necessarily a bad thing). But I would like to focus on this total body workout for the next month to allow my body to get stronger. After about a month, it will be time to switch up my workouts anyway to prevent boredom (both with me and my muscles).

Are there any goals that you have right now?

21 responses to “Setting Goals

  1. One of the goals I have is to work on time management. 🙂

  2. Love the veggie goal. I struggle to eat enough veggies too, and I don’t think I get enough variety. I need to branch out!

  3. I think those are good goals. I have so many goals that I want to accomplish. It does get a bit overwhelming when you start thinking about it.

  4. I LOVE YOUR GOALS!!! I am all about action based goals rather than results based goals! can’t wait to hear how you did!!! Sounds great!!

  5. Mini-goals are great! I set mini goals as a way of getting my “big” goals accomplished! Sometimes they seem a little overwhelming, and when they do, I step back on the mini goals for awhile.

    I’ll have to try the Jackie Warner workouts! I’m usually a Jillian girl, but she won’t mind!

  6. Love this! I think setting goals is so important! Mini-goals are the best, I would encourage you to find ways to celebrate achieving each goal to give you something to look forward to. I will try myself to a spa day or buy a new outfit, things like that. I think you definitely have the spirit and the drive to accomplish any goal you set you mind to! 🙂 You go girl! I’m support you 100%!

    • Jessica, thank you so much for the tip! In the past, I have always rewarded myself with food. I love the idea of rewarding myself for achieving my mini-goals. It would allow me to learn how to reward myself with other things besides food. Thanks!

  7. I have a lot of writing goals! I want to expand my freelance work and finish at least ONE novel by early 2012. Daunting, but I’m going day by day.

  8. One of my goals is to actually start setting more goals for myself! I love the idea of it, but have never done it myself! 😉

  9. Sounds like some great goals! Mine is just stick with the gym and get back to my normal fitness regime.

  10. I love your nutrition goal! Mine is definitely to get more sleep. It plays a huge role in my energy, mood, and overall happiness.

  11. Floss, moisturize, call family, eat a nutritious breakfast….accountability via my blog is helping soooo much.

  12. I think mini-goals are the way to go – much more attainable. My goals are to cook 2 new meals from scratch per week and also do 3 days per week of strength training (I’m a cardio ho, haha).

    Enjoy your Sunday 🙂

  13. I love mini-goals! I’m pretty terrible at big goals—too overwhelming. I am a wellness coach and always tell people that when we change not-on-purpose, we usually do it slowly and gradually (so we don’t even notice). If we want to change on purpose, focusing on little manageable steps makes the most sense and goes along with how we generally change anyway!

  14. I am trying to step up my workouts lately. I took a little exercise hiatus, and I need to get back at it!

  15. I get bored of workouts pretty easily too. Nothing wrong with changing things up!

    As far as your veggie goal, I can adopt that as mine too. As much as I try, veggies just aren’t my thing. I’m just going to keep trying them until I find one I like!

  16. Pingback: Time for rest |

  17. I love the try two new veggies goal! I never thought to do something like that but I’d like to try more new foods.

    My goal this week is to add 15-20 minutes more cardio to each workout. I need to kick it up a notch!

  18. Pingback: Courage |

  19. Pingback: Trader Joe’s convert |

Leave a Reply

