Tuna Casserole

I must be on a roll to create two new recipes in one day. First scrambled egg muffins and now a delicious tuna casserole. This has been a very productive day off. 🙂

Nothing screams comfort food like a casserole. While I was thinking about what to cook for dinner, I immediately thought of a casserole. A nice, warm, hearty casserole to curl up with while you are watching Toy Story 3. Or is that just me? (Great movie, by the way)

I had not defrosted any meat today so I was at a loss for what to use as the protein. Then I remembered tuna . . . which I haven’t eaten in ages. This casserole is great because it’s quick, it’s easy, and you probably have all the ingredients in your pantry right now. With all the many bloggers trapped inside by the snow, this casserole doesn’t require any nasty trips to the grocery store. But here in Georgia, it is nice and clear so I just use this easy casserole as an excuse to lounge in my pajamas all day. But that’s okay too.

This casserole is light, but filling. And made of low fat cream cheese instead of the usual cheddar cheese, it’s low in fat as well. Don’t be scared by the combination. Cream cheese and tomato sauce may seem like a weird combo, but it adds such a nice depth of flavor to the casserole that you may find yourself licking the spoon and practically licking the dish you put it in. Not that I would ever do that. 🙂

Tuna Casserole (makes 4 generous servings)

2 cups uncooked macaroni (or you could just use whatever pasta you have on land, like me)
1 can (12 ounces) white water-packed tuna
1 can (8 ounces) tomato sauce
4 ounces reduced-fat cream cheese
1 small onion, finely chopped
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. black pepper
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes (you can use more or less, depending on how hot you like it)

Cook pasta according to package directions. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, combine the rest of the ingredients. Drain pasta and stir into tuna mixture. Transfer to a casserole dish. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until heated through.

8 responses to “Tuna Casserole

  1. Your post has made me hungry! Seriously look so good. I love tuna and the high amount of protein makes it even better!

  2. Yay for new recipes! This looks tasty 🙂

  3. Love this recipe!! I’ve been wanting to make a good tuna casserole!

  4. mmm I have a tuna noodle casserole recipe from cooking light that is my go to recipe! IT tastes wonderful. My mom never made this dish growing up and I’m sad she didn’t! I missed out! Now I make it at least once every couple months!

  5. I have been really wanting to see Toy Story 3! Maybe once I get a hold on it on Netflix…. 🙂

  6. This looks great, and I’m actually not a tuna person at all. I really want to see Toy Story 3!

  7. Love new tuna recipes! When shopping for the tuna be sure to take note on whether or not it is sustainable. These means the company uses the pole and troll method to catch the tuna, eliminating bycatch. Also because of sourcing standards the tuna is lower in mercury. Better for your body, better for the earth!

Leave a Reply

