Trader Joe’s convert

I should never be allowed to enter Trader Joe’s on my own. Today I went there because I needed one thing; I came out with eight. ๐Ÿ™‚

I said once that I wasn’t sure what the appeal was to Trader Joe’s. I think I finally get it. I could browse that store for hours. I originally went there because I needed tuna fish. Believe it or not, the tuna fish at Trader Joe’s is more natural than any other store, even Whole Foods. If I eat regular canned tuna, there are often certain fillers that can make me sick. Trader Joe’s canned tuna doesn’t have that.

But when I arrived at the store, that kind of flew out the window. There are so many cool things there! Did you know they have peanut butter cream cheese?? How crazy is that? I will be trying that.

Check out that haul!

So I ended up buying a roasted seaweed snack (total impulse buy), strawberry cream cheese, pomegranate seeds, hummus with horseradish (yummy!), peanut butter filled pretzels, some hot and sweet mustard, and a container of Fage 2% yogurt with honey. If you look in the back, under the mustard, you will see the tuna . . ย . the only thing I actually went there to buy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I cracked open the bag of peanut butter filled pretzels on the way home. They were delicious! I was torn between the hummus with horseradish and the guacamole hummus. The horseradish thing kind of got to me. Has anyone tried the guacamole hummus? I think I will try that one next time . . . along with the peanut butter cream cheese.

I have no idea why I picked up the roasted seaweed. Maybe it was because it was just 99 cents. Maybe I just wanted to try something new. I cracked open the roasted seaweed this evening.

Fail.

The taste wasn’t too bad at first.ย But then there was an aftertaste. Yech, not good.

At least I tried something new, right? Does that count as one of my new veggies that I wanted to try? Guess that might be kind of stretch. ๐Ÿ˜‰

What is your favorite Trader Joe’s item? I am always looking for new ideas.

17 responses to “Trader Joe’s convert

  1. I’ve been wanting to try Trader Joe’s Peanut Flour, but I’ve heard that they are discontinueing it!

  2. I do all my grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s and each week I still find something new. I’m totally addicted!

  3. I’ve never been to TJ’s before, but I had a college friend who used to always give me this fruit-roll-up type thing from there. It was so good!

  4. My favorite TJs item right now are the meatless meatballs, you must try them!!! Also, I love the mediterranian hummus and the $1.79 all natural pb! TJs just makes me so happy ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I love trader joes!! Some of my favorite finds there are the butternut squash gnocchi, their pitas and their peanut butter pretzels. I love guacamole and hummus so combined would most likely be heaven!

  6. Well…maybe I shouldn’t admit this but I cannot leave the store without a large container of their caramel corn…which I open and stuff myself with in the car…which is why I am glad I have to leave the state to go to Trader Joe’s!!! If they ever open one in Austin I am doomed…

  7. Try wrapping the roasted seaweed around steamed brown rice, it should taste much better!

  8. I love everything at Trader Joe’s. My favorite things…hummus, dressings, and jalapeno refried black beans!

  9. I want to have Trader Joe’s baby b/c I love him so! Their frozen Mandarin Orange Chicken is bomb and tastes like take out and I pretty much love everything from there like their hummus, soups, pizza dough, tortilla chips, salsa, teas, I love it all. Did you know if you dont like something, you can take it back and get a refund?

  10. Now I really wish there was a Trader Joe’s close by.

  11. I’m a Trader Joe’s convert as well! I made the mistake of going to my TJ’s when they first opened and they had nothing, then I went back a few months later and felt like I was in Foodie Heaven! I saw the PB cream cheese and really wanted to buy it, but I resisted the urge. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. Try making PB cream cheese yourself! ๐Ÿ˜€

  13. Iv’e had the pumpkin cream cheese from TJ’s but never the peanut butter, must be new. I love going to TJ’s ever so often to see all the new things they come up with. You must get the guilt-free brownie mix the next time you go. I highly recommend it, just make sure to add a little milk or water to the mix.

  14. I got that same roasted seaweed and ended up throwing it away. I didn’t like it at all. It was about the only thing from Trader Joe’s I didn’t like. The mustard was one of my favs.

  15. haha i dont live near a TJ’s but those pictures are hilarious haha

  16. I LOOOOOOVE TJ’s! I’m such an addict ๐Ÿ˜‰

    My favorite items are roasted tomato and pepper soup (to make Magic Soup; its in a carton), their nut butters, peanut flour, and their wine!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. I’ve never been to a Trader Joe’s and I’m hoping to someday! The closest one to us is over 100 miles away–we’re good if we can make it to Whole Foods! (which is about 75 miles). So glad you enjoyed your trip though–looks like you got tons of tasty goods ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope you’re having a good week!

Leave a Reply

