Get your fruit!

I really, really, really tried to follow today’s nutrition tip. And I did . . . sort of. Just not to my liking. I’m a perfectionist. 🙂

Today’s nutrition tip is to get 2-4 servings of fruit a day. Most of the time (like today), I probably get the minimum (at least). Fruit is easier to eat for me than veggies, but I still don’t get as many servings as I should. Since today is Thursday, my fruit and veggies supply were not near what they were last Friday (grocery day). We follow a strict grocery budget. So for the sake of our bank accounts (and to avoid any waste), I buy only as many fruits and veggies as I will need for the week. So by Thursday and Friday, I am struggling to get my quota.

I started the day by thinking that I would make a Gingerbread Smoothie. It is a tasty, nutritious way to get some fruits and veggies in my body. However, I ran into a problem: we were also running out of nonfat milk. I needed a cup of milk for my smoothie. We had about a quarter cup of nonfat milk and (very surprisingly) we had about three quarters cup of whole milk. I figured that I could just use both of them in my smoothie and the taste of the pear, vanilla protein powder, cinnamon and nutmeg would cover the taste of the whole milk.

Umm . . . not so much. I didn’t really mind the extra calories of whole milk, but I did mind the taste. The smoothie had a horrible taste that I couldn’t place at first and then I realized that it was from the whole milk. I guess I am just used to the taste of skim. Unfortunately, that was a waste of fresh fruit because I couldn’t drink any of it. It was that bad.

I did carry some fresh pineapple to work for a snack. 1/2 cup of fruit is a serving, so I would guess that I had two servings of fruit with this pineapple.

Pineapple is probably my favorite fruit. I love warm weather primarily because it means lots of pineapple! The only place I like to get pineapple is the local indoor Farmer’s Market. You get to pick out a fresh pineapple and then they will peel and core it for you. The machine that does it is so cool and it’s worth it to get the pineapple just to check that out.

With my pineapple, I ate some Trader Joe’s peanut butter filled pretzels (love those!). I meant to eat an apple as an afternoon snack, but somehow I never got hungry enough for that. So I had two servings of fruit today. Not bad, but not great. Maybe I should have eaten some of my Stuffed Blueberry and White Chocolate French Toast. That would have counted as a serving of fruit, right? 😉

So how do you manage to get your required servings of fruit?

6 responses to “Get your fruit!

  1. That stinks that the smoothie didn’t turn out well. I’ve never used whole milk before, but thanks for the warning! I try to eat fruit as a side to my breakfast. Or sometimes I’ll make an English muffin and put PB on one side and chopped up banana, pear or apple on the other. 🙂

  2. Bummer about the smoothie! I haven’t had whole milk in forever – I feel like it would be too heavy for my liking!
    I probably get 4 servings of fruit a day… I love the sweetness of it all!

  3. I’m sorry that the smoothie didn’t turn out.

    Ohmygosh, I eat so much fruit! It is so delicious! I get way more than the recommended intake! On Fruits and Veggies! 😀 I like fruit in my oats, in my baked goods, as dessert, as a snack!!!! I love it! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  4. I LOVE fresh pineapple! It reminds me of Easter 🙂 I can’t wait to get some soon!

  5. for sure try a mixture of coconut milk creamer and OJ in your smoothie and it may taste wayyyy amazing! =) I have a few recipe’s if you’d like them! ❤

    mine at first were total fails! so i know it can be a process to find your super yummy go-to smoothie!

  6. Pingback: Internet Free |

Leave a Reply

