Pumpkin Biscuits

I love breakfast for dinner. I tweeted a few weeks back that breakfast for dinner always seems like a treat. Several people commented back that it was the same for them as well. I wonder why that is.

Last week when I made Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread, I mentioned a recipe for Pumpkin Biscuits that came from the same cookbook. When I first saw that recipe I knew instantly that I wanted to make them. I even bought whole wheat pastry flour at Whole Foods this weekend specifically for this recipe.

When I was planning the menu for the week, I wanted to plan something that would go well with the biscuits. Breakfast was the best (and my favorite) option.

I am so glad I made these biscuits. They basically taste like regular biscuits with a slight hint of pumpkin and spice. The amount of sugar in them is perfect. It’s just enough so there is a hint of sweetness, but the sugar doesn’t overpower the biscuits or make them into a dessert.

Pumpkin Biscuits (makes 16-20 biscuits) – from Pumpkin: A Super Food for all 12 Months of the Year

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour
1/4 c. sugar
4 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. allspice
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 c. (1 stick) butter, cut into small pieces
1 c. canned unsweetened pumpkin

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine flours, sugar, baking powder, allspice, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt together in food processor. Add the butter and pulse a few times, until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Dump the mixture into a large bowl. Stir in the pumpkin and mix until the dry ingredients are just moistened. Scrape the dough onto a floured surface and knead a few times, adding a little flour if it is very sticky. Pat the dough into a 1/2 inch circle and cut biscuits with a 2-inch biscuit cutter. Place biscuits 1 inch apart on a baking sheet and bake for 12 -15 minutes, until risen and lightly browned.

I ate two of the biscuits, one when it was fresh from the oven and another one with my dinner. They were so tasty with just a little bit of butter.

I had the biscuits with some breakfast potatoes, peppers and onion. I also had two eggs and one egg white scrambled with a little cheese.

It was perfection. ๐Ÿ™‚

10 responses to “Pumpkin Biscuits

  1. These look so great, pumpkin is a fave of ours! Try subbing a whole grain wheat-free flour like spelt or brown rice for extra healthiness. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Love this. I’ve had sweet potato biscuits but never pumpkin…

  3. I do that often too! My favorite breakfast for dinner is sourdough toast topped with jam and brie! Yum!

  4. I lvoe that you made them pumpkiny!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I bet these would be great crumbled over some chili! ๐Ÿ˜€

    xoxox
    Kathleen

  5. Those biscuits look great! I love pumpkin :-).

  6. Breakfast for dinner is the best – omelets, pancakes, waffles, yum! Your pumpkin biscuits look like something I would totally eat for breakfast or a snack. I think I still have a couple cans of pumpkin in my pantry, I should dig them up!

  7. I love breakfast for dinner. We try to do it once a week because it’s easy and tasty ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. thank you for you kind words today friend. Its nice to have such support for Japan, ya know?
    I love your pumpkin biscuits. I made some very similar with sweet potato. they hit the spot for breakfast dinners, yum!

  9. I eat breakfast for dinner probably once a week. It’s my favorite ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Breakfast for dinner is the BEST!! And those pumpkin biscuits look AMAZING you genius!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

