Fresh Start to the Week

This weekend was really relaxing (except for the whole working on Saturday thing). After work on Saturday, I decided to head to my grandmother’s house (she lives an hour away) and spend some time with her. We are really close and every once in a while I will go spend some good quality time with her. I am glad our tradition of spending the weekend together did not end when I got married. πŸ™‚

I have to say that I did not take one single picture the entire time I was there. It was just one of those nights where I wanted to take a break from my blogging duties and just relax.

I will say that grandmother’s house = comfort food. I had real butter (and lots of it), macaroni and cheese and lots of bites of some burnt pound cake (not all of it was ruined).Β And last night, my husband and I ordered take out. In addition to a Greek wrap with fries, I ordered a massive slice of red velvet cake from Marietta Diner, a local restaurant that is practically an institution and has amazing food.

I LOVE red velvet and I think it’s been years since I’ve tasted one of their cake slices.Β Don’t worry, I didn’t eat the entire thing. πŸ˜‰ I probably ate almost half of it before a massive stomach ache hit. That’s what happens when you eat too much comfort food. I ended up throwing the rest of the cake away. As wonderful as that cake was (seriously delicious), I knew my body couldn’t take any more sugar.

Did anyone NOT watch the Superbowl last night? I think Corey and I were just about the only ones in the country not watching the game. Instead, we watched Social Network as part of my mission to see all of the Oscar nominees for best picture. It was an excellent movie. Even Justin Timberlake did a great job in it. I’m not sure if I’m rooting for it for Best Picture though. I think Black Swan was better. I know that King’s Speech is getting a lot of buzz and is expected to win, so I would like to see that one.

After all of the fattening food I ate this weekend, I wanted to start today right. I have never been one to promise that I will do better on Monday (at least, not anymore). I typically eat healthy even on the weekends, with the occasional splurge just like during the week. But after my eats this weekend, I knew what I needed to start my week off right: lots of fruits and veggies!

I started the day with a nice apple bowl for breakfast.

I microwaved an apple with some cinnamon and a little bit of maple syrup until it was soft. I topped the apples with some peanut butter granola, blueberries, Rice Krispies, and ricotta cheese. It was super tasty and filling! And the best part was that my breakfast snapped, crackled, and popped. πŸ™‚

Lunch was a delicious noodle bowl.

It had spinach fettuccine, pasta sauce, grilled chicken, and some broccoli. It was a very red and green lunch . . . like Christmas in a bowl!

An afternoon snack was a couple of handfuls of honey roasted peanuts.

These things are so good! I am contemplating making some homemade honey roasted peanut butter with them.

Dinner was taco salad.

I had some beef seasoned with homemade taco seasoning, spinach, cheese, salsa and a special ingredient . . Β . broccoli. I know that seems like a weird addition. The meat did make the broccoli a bit soggy, but it was still tasty. And of course I had some tortilla chips for dippin’. πŸ™‚

I have to admit that I did not feel like working out at ALL. I felt lazy and out of sorts. But I kept telling myself to just do something and it would make me feel better. I planned on doing the elliptical for an hour, but I ended up doing fifteen minutes. That was all I could push myself to do at that moment. Ordinarily, I would feel guilty about not doing more, but I have learned that any activity is good activity.

All in all, it was a good beginning to the week. Hope everyone’s Monday went just as well. πŸ™‚

21 responses to “Fresh Start to the Week

  1. Good God that red velvet cake looks absolutely divine! I would eat the entire thing.

    You’re the second blogger who I’ve seen tonight having taco salad–I need to make one soon because it looks too good not to make!

  2. Your noodle bowl looks so good, and the red velvet cake is out of this world! I really liked The Social Network. I’ll always have a soft spot for JT πŸ˜‰

  3. Well… I happened to be in the dining hall doing homework while the end of hte superbowl was playing on a projector… but that’s about all I can say int erms of watching it πŸ˜‰ lol.

  4. Its always nice to start your week in a good way! YOU GO GIRL πŸ˜‰

  5. Holy mother of God that cake looks good. I would have devoured the whole thing in the blink of an eye!

  6. I actually didn’t watch the Super Bowl (so you’re not the only one :)); we had other things going on. You should totally make that Honey Roasted Peanut Butter! It would be DIVINE!

  7. That cake looks amazing, I’m also a big fan of red velvet!

  8. The red velvet cake looks good! Great job on eating what you wanted of it and throwing the rest away.

  9. Red Velvet cake is the bomb. Girl, you are so much self control-I would have been like stomach ache…oh well I’m going to continue to eat this bahaha.

  10. Homemade honey roasted peanut butter sounds bomb. Let me know if you try it! I love red velvet cake-cream cheese frosting is my favorite!!

  11. That cake looks so delicious! I love red velvet cake, and don’t think I could resist devouring that whole thing. πŸ™‚

  12. My boyfriend is from Marietta! πŸ™‚

  13. Ohh that cake looks DE-vine. I’m actually making my own spin on it for a valentines day treat.

    I’ll keep that picture in mind for my competition πŸ˜‰

  14. I’ve only had red velvet cake once, and it kind of tasted average to me. It was from a box though, so I guess I have to try the real thing before I judge.

    I love the idea of ricotta cheese at breakfast! Just like a cannoli.

  15. beef and salsa…pretty much my food staples growing up haha..kid you not. but always so yummy of course!

    mmm all this food looks so yummy! red velvet cake ESPECIALLY!!! ❀

  16. You are not alone! My husband and I didn’t watch the game either!

    I like that you’re watching all the Oscar films – that’s such a great idea.

  17. Red velvet — soooo stomach ache worthy… But you are miraculously back on track! (King’s Speech is an awesome movie — all talking and it held me right to the end!)

  18. We watched The Social Network last weekend, too! I thought it was great!

  19. I still need to see the social network!!
    i cant believe you threw away the cake… next time fed-ex it to me πŸ˜‰ i’ll pay for the shipping!! ha

  20. That cake looks great!
    I also did not watch the super bowl. I did watch the commercials online afterwards though!

Leave a comment