Goals

Since yesterday was the beginning of a whole new month, it occurred to me that I haven’t given you guys an update regarding my February goals. I had two goals: try at least two new vegetables and to do the Jackie Warner workout three times a week.

Regarding the vegetable goal, it was a great success. I tried cauliflower. It was a pretty tasty dish . . . at least the way I cooked it. I plan on cooking it in different ways in the future.

In my brief hiatus from blogging, I also tried another veggie . . . parsnip!

I honestly wasn’t expecting to like parsnip. I roasted it in the oven with some red pepper and paprika (can you tell I like things spicy?) to make parsnip fries.

I really liked them! They had kind of a sweet taste that I really enjoyed. I have actually eaten these about three or four times since I first tried them a couple of weeks ago. I really need to continue trying new veggies. Sometimes I am pleasantly surprised.

I did not succeed at the goal of doing the Jackie Warner DVD three times a week. The first couple of weeks, I did what I needed to do. But over the second half of the month, I slowly stopped doing Jackie Warner at all. I think it’s because I was getting bored with the workouts. I was able to move through all the workouts with way too much ease. I decided to make the workout a little tougher by increasing the weight I was using. I was using 5 pound and 3 pound hand weights for the workout. On Monday, I used 8 pound and 5 pound hand weights for the workout. I haven’t used the 8 pound weights in forever . . . since I used to do regular strength training. Increasing the weights really made a difference. I had to struggle with the workout and I actually broke a sweat. My muscles were quivering afterwards. It is now four days later and my muscles are still sore from the increased weights. I don’t think there is one muscle that isn’t still sore. Guess that means it worked. 🙂

Besides the fact that Spring is that much closer, March also means it’s time to set some new goals!

One goal I am setting for this month is to eat out no more than once a week. (Starbucks doesn’t count as eating out, right. 😉 ) I feel like a reason my weight loss has stalled is because my husband and I have been eating out too much. I try to get healthier options, but I do think that sometimes I tend to eat more when I’m eating out. For instance, my husband and I ordered fajitas from a local Mexican restaurant last night. I had the best intentions: I was going to stop at two fajitas (usually  I have three) and I was going to have a small portion of chips and salsa. I did stop at two fajitas, but I overdid it on chips and salsa. I ate way too many of them. I definitely ate past the point of fullness, which is what I am trying to stop.

A second goal for the month of March is to try at least two new workouts . . . or at least do a new workout DVD that I haven’t done in years. I have quite a lot of those. I tend to get in workout ruts (like Jackie Warner) and it would be great to make my muscles work a bit harder.

What are some of your goals right now? Tried any new veggies lately?

10 responses to “Goals

  1. I feel like my goals right now are to keep up the good work and mostly to stay POSITIVE which is hard when stress rules your life! … I’m sure you can relate 🙂

  2. I want to eat out only once a week, too. I normally don’t eat out but I feel like I did more than usual last month, and it’s expensive!

  3. I definitely want to keep eating out to a minimum in March too. I don’t do it too often, but when I do, I usually don’t make good choices. The parsnip fries look so tasty!

  4. Love parsnip fries! It’s been too long since I’ve had them too.

  5. I don’t think I’ve ever had a parsnip, you’ve intrigued me!

  6. I’ve never tried a Parship before! But I totally want to try those Parship Fries!!! 😀

    LOVE cauliflower! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  7. eating out less is a great goal. i’ve found myself eating out 5-6 times a week lately! even worse, i actually really like eating at home and preparing my own meals. what i dont like is not being able to see my friends or go out with a group because i dont want to eat out…so, i end up deciding to spend time with family/friends and my restaurant total for the week skyrockets!! i had the very best intentions this week and already i know i’ll probably go out 3-4 times just because i have made plans to get together with people!

  8. Pingback: Meant to Run? |

  9. Pingback: My staycation rocks! |

  10. Pingback: April Showers |

Leave a comment