Wendy’s Clone

Back when I didn’t put that much thought into what I was eating, I would eat a lot of Wendy’s . . . specifically their Spicy Chicken Sandwich. I ate lots of them. Even now, I still get a craving every once in a while. But since too many preservatives give me a headache, I have to keep my distance.

I once bought a cookbook that has (healthy) copycat recipes of quite a few fast food favorites. When I saw there was a version of Wendy’s Spicy Chicken in it, I was beyond excited. Since Corey also loves their Spicy Chicken Sandwich and he often prefers junk food to home cooking, I consider it a small victory that he loves this version as well. It is so incredibly good. It will (almost) make you forget about the original.

Wendy’s Spicy Chicken Sandwich Clone (makes 2 sandwiches) – adapted from Fast Food Fix: 75 amazing recipe makeovers of your fast food restaurant favorites

2 tsp. flour
1 tsp. cornstarch
1/2 tsp. paprika
1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp. salt
pinch of garlic powder and turmeric
6 oz. boneless, skinless chicken breast
2 egg whites
2 tsp. fat free milk
7 T. panko bread crumbs
black pepper

In small resealable plastic bag, combine the flour, cornstarch, paprika, cayenne, salt, garlic powder, and turmeric. Shake to mix well. Add the chicken. Shake to completely coat the chicken with flour mixture. Place in refrigerator for at least 10 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray nonstick baking sheet with cooking spray.

In a small, shallow bowl, combine the egg whites and milk. Beat with a fork until smooth. Place the panko on a small sheet of waxed paper. Dip the chicken into the egg white mixture, making sure to coat completely. Dip into panko to coat completely. Repeat dipping into the egg white mixture and panko crumbs. Place on baking sheet. Season both sides to taste with black pepper.

Bake for 6 to 8 minutes per side, or until the breading is crisp and chicken is no longer pink inside.

Serve on bread and with toppings of your choice. I use lettuce and low fat mayonnaise. Yum!

I served the sandwich with some roasted asparagus drizzled with barbecue sauce. I may not be wearing green, but I have green on my plate. Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

What is your favorite food from a fast food restaurant?

17 responses to “Wendy’s Clone

  1. Yum! I’ll be trying this. I actually don’t like fast food. I used to eat lots of double cheeseburgers at Burger King when I was little and I loved them. In 8th grade I made a new years resolution to never eat fast food again and the longer I kept it, the more and more repulsed I got by fast food! I’m definitely not judgmental of people who like it–I’m just glad my taste buds don’t want it! One less craving I have to worry about.

    This recipe looks super yummy though and I definitely have to try it!

    • Allie, I know exactly how I feel. When I stopped eating fast food (because of all the preservatives), I stopped craving it so much. I can’t remember the last time I had fast food. Now I crave foods that are prepared with fresh ingredients. They taste so much better. 🙂

  2. These sound absolutely incredible! I don’t think I have ever tried their Spicy ones. Only the regular ones.

    Yah, fast food makes me feel sick! Literally! My body abhors it.

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  3. So crazy- I am listening to Pandora and a commercial for Wendy’s just came on!

  4. I like Chik Fil A’s original sandwich on a wheat bun with extra pickles and then their buffalo sauce drizzled alllll over it! I had it 2 nights ago – whoops 😉

  5. Wendy’s is my favorite fast food place too! I love their chicken nuggets with a side of fries. Yum!

  6. Wendy’s is my favoriteeee fast food place! I’m all about the #6 – Spicy Chicken Combo 😉 I think their fries are the BEST!

  7. Have you tried the Boca Spicy Chik’n patties? If not, YOU MUST! It tastes just like a Wendy’s sandwich, but better!

  8. Looks great! I really want a cookbook like that. My favorite fast food is probably arby’s roast beef.

  9. Now you just have to make a healthy version of the their Frosty’s.

  10. Hi hi! Thanks for the comment on my (incredibly hard to write and even harder to publish) post!! I know I have seen you “around” somewhere. On FoodsofApril?

    This recipe…is so amazing. My husband LOVES those sandwiches but I hate when he spends money on fast food…now I have an alternative for him!!Woooohoo!

  11. This Italian Family

    YUM! And what a great idea to make restaurant favorites at home! 🙂

  12. I love when people cook like this. I love recipes that healthily reproduce the fast food counterparts. I love Chik-Fil-A and would love for you to replicate their chicken sandwich!!

  13. Oh I used to love Wendy’s spicy chicken, too! I have to try this 🙂 YUM

  14. That book is such a great idea! Ive actually been craving a chicken sandwich lately, I may be back for this recipe 🙂

Leave a comment