Chocolatey Peanutty Goodness

The past couple of days have been kind of boring food-wise. Eggs and toast, tomato soup, grilled cheese, pizza . . . and more than a few white chocolate Reese’s peanut butter eggs. Thank goodness those are gone. I had way too much chocolate this weekend.

Yesterday I ate breakfast kid of late because I wasn’t feeling well. The only thing I felt like was eggs and toast so my husband offered to make me some. And he got very creative with the eggs.

2 fried eggs in the shape of a heart! How cute is that? It did make me feel a lot better.

Other than that meal, the highlight of my weekend was probably making homemade peanut butter. Homemade white chocolate peanut butter at that. A couple of weeks ago, we bought a huge container of peanuts from Sam’s.

52 ounces of peanutty goodness. FYI: I bought these peanuts because I prefer peanut butter to almond butter (most of the time). I may be in the minority in this but oh well.

Peanut Butter & Co. make the most amazing White Chocolate Peanut Butter. It’s one of my favorites. I don’t know if you guys have noticed it or not, but food prices have gone up. Way up. So making your own peanut butter just makes good sense. I do feel weird calling this a recipe because there are only two ingredients. Well . . . three if you add salt. I never realized making your own nut butter could be so easy. My food processor is my favorite kitchen appliance.

White Chocolate Peanut Butter (makes about 1 2/3 c.)

2 cups dry roasted peanuts
1/2 c. white chocolate chips
salt to taste (optional, I did not add this because the peanuts I used were already salted)

You start out by placing the peanuts in your food processor.

Process until smooth. This process can take about ten minutes or so. So have patience! You will probably have to scrape the sides of the bowl several times until finished.

Meanwhile, melt white chocolate chips in microwave or over the stove on medium heat. My creative husband made our own double boiler by placing a large bowl over a pot filled with some water.

Once peanuts are a smooth consistency, add melted chocolate chips (and salt if using). Process well.

Enjoy! This peanut butter is a lot better than the store-bought stuff.

I had a serious lack of veggies this weekend so I decided to use my new white chocolate peanut butter in a delicious breakfast smoothie.

In the blender went:

2 large handfuls of spinach
a frozen banana
several fresh strawberries
1 c. of milk
half a scoop of vanilla protein powder
spoonful of white chocolate peanut butter

It was so delicious and healthy . . . not to mention filling. I don’t usually have smoothies for breakfast because they don’t fill  me up for very long. But this smoothie kept me full for a while. It was the perfect way to start the week.

21 responses to “Chocolatey Peanutty Goodness

  1. Cynthia, thanks so much for stopping my Fitness Health and Food, it was so nice to hear from you :). I loooove the look of that white chocolate PB and the egg heart is too cute! 🙂

  2. Aw, I love the heart-shaped fried eggs!! I try to get toast shaped like that all the time!

  3. Awww, heart shaped eggs! SO cute 🙂

  4. I love your eggs 🙂

    I just bought a jar of white chocolate peanut butter and am loving it, but I bet homemade is soooo much better! I need a new food processor to make this 🙂

  5. Aw I love the heart shaped fried eggs! Definitely super creative 🙂
    That white chocolate pb must have tasted amazing 😀

  6. I made the white chocolate peanut butter a couple of weeks ago and it was gone in one day!

  7. Now that I have a food processor, I really want to make my own nut butter! The addition of white chocolate sounds wonderful! 🙂

  8. Omg I HAVE to make this peanut butter!! I love white chocolate so much. Thanks for sharing!! 🙂

  9. Aww, I love the eggs! And I NEED to try that peanut butter, it sounds delish! 😀

  10. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog! That white chocolate peanut butter looks AMAAAAAAZING! I have yet to jump on the butter-making bandwagon, but I think I’m going to cave soon 🙂

  11. What a sweet guy! Love those eggs!

    And I’m so impressed you made your own PB! This sounds awesome!

  12. The heart shaped eggs are adorable!

    Yum to white chocolate peanut butter…that sounds a little TOO good 😉

  13. I really need to make some white chocolate peanut butter. Yours looks so good.

  14. Hi Cynthia – I’ve just came over to your blog from reading a comment you left on SJ’s blog regarding your struggle to eat enough – I was just interested as I am in a similar position in that after losing a lot of weight I am now struggling to keep the weight on! I’m glad I’m not the only one with this problem, I hate eating for the sake of it when I’m not hungry but its the only way I’m managing not to lose any more! Looking forward to seeing more of your blog x

  15. Love the heart shaped eggs!

    I too like to make my own nut butters. Pecan is my favorite, you should try that one 🙂

  16. I would have to agree with you on the pb vs almond butter. I have tried getting into almond butter but I think pb takes the cake!
    I love that you made your own white chocolate pb! It looks excellent!

  17. I’ve always wanted to try the white chocolate nut butters….they just sound out of this WORLD good! Almost scary good like it may be a good thing I don’t know what I’m missing 🙂 The heart-shaped egg is adorable! I want a demo on how that was done 🙂

  18. The white chocolate peanut butter sounds great! And those eggs are adorable! For some reason, when I’m sick all I want is cheesy scrambled eggs.

  19. Home made Peanut Butter?! That looks amazing! I just bought Barney Butter, which is made out of almonds but tastes just like peanut butter! You should try it 🙂

  20. Wow that nut butter looks DEVINE! It has never occurred to be to add WHITE chocolate! Yum!!

Leave a comment