Losing weight the cold way

Last night, I was watching TV and I saw something interesting on ABC news or dateline or one of those shows. There was an author (Tim Ferris, I believe) who stated that he believed people could lose weight in cold weather.

Breakfast: the LAST of my Pumpkin Pancakes 😦

But he wasn’t just talking about any cold weather . . . he was talking about purposefully taking walks and exposing yourself to below freezing temperatures to speed up your metabolism. During the show, he and the reporter actually walked outside in below freezing weather without a coat. How crazy is that?

Delicious lunch: spinach salad with baked chicken strips, a hard boiled egg, half a green pepper, and some homemade Italian vinaigrette

During the interview, he also said that nutrionists and registered dieticiand are giving incorrect information. Apparently, the calories in and calories out formula is “wrong.”

I guess he got this idea from Michael Phelps, who eats about 12,000 calories a day. This guy believed that his ability to stay fit and toned was due to the fact that he swam in cool water. Maybe it was because he swims about eight hours a day?

Very filling dinner: brown rice, a hamburger patty that I cooked, some corn, and green beans that I roasted with olive oil and Cajun seasoning. I also added some ketchup and mustard to this bowl. 🙂

Now I have heard that if you’re colder your metabolism naturally speeds up. But this just seems like another “quick fix” to me. The man who was in the interview stated that he lost 30 pounds in 6 weeks. I’m not sure if the cold was the only factor, but I know that I don’t want to be freezing cold in order to lose weight.

What happened to just eating healthy and being more active?

What do you think of this idea? Do you think that weight loss is about thermodynamics and not about calories in vs. calories out?

8 responses to “Losing weight the cold way

  1. I think it sounds crazy! If that were true, we’d never have our heaters on 🙂

  2. I heard many moons ago that you gain weight in the winter because your body naturally stores more fat to keep you warm in cold weather, so I’m not sure how much I believe this. You hear so many things about diets and foods that make you lose weight and fitness programs that change your life in only 5 minutes a day, it’s hard to tell what is legit and what isn’t 😛

  3. I say forget thermodynamics! I’m totally with you: whatever happened to eating well and living actively? I think it’s sad that this guy exposed himself to uncomfortably cold temperatures all in the name of losing weight.

    Hope you’re having a good day!

  4. Everyone’s an expert huh??
    Eat healthy fun foods and be active is what I reckon too….

    Just stopping by your blog to say hello, and I find we had the same dinner last night! One of my fav’s – rice and pattie salad, but I had cucumber, snow pea, spinach, red onion, mushrooms and a garlic/yogurt/mint dressing. Mmm

    Looking forward to reading more!

    Lea

  5. I think everyone wants to believe that there is a different, perhaps easier, way to get healthy and fit (although the media seem to perpetuate the idea that healthy = skinny which isn’t always the case). People don’t want to hear that they have to think about what they are eating and actually plan to move around and sweat every day. You, though, are doing a great job. Your meals look really good and your workouts are inspiring! Thanks for that 🙂

Leave a comment