Sunday Breakfast

I love Sunday mornings. My wonderful husband let me sleep in and I guess my body needed it because I ended up getting about nine hours of sleep. Yay.

The best part of Sunday mornings? Pancakes! My husband loves to make me breakfast and every Sunday, he does. Most of the time, Sundays scream pancakes for me.

Today, I wanted to break out one of my cans of pumpkin I managed to score at Publix . . . and I wanted to use my peanut flour. So I used them both in the same recipe. Mmm . . . tasty pumpkin goodness.

 

my husband cooking pancakes for me!

pancake goodness

These pancakes were so moist and I loved the pumpkin flavor. Couldn’t really taste the peanut flour that much, but it still gave me a healthy dose of protein. These were the best pancakes I have had in a very long time. So good! And I have leftovers for the rest of the week. 🙂

Pumpkin Pancakes – as adapted from Taste of Home

 

1 1/2 c. all purpose flour
1/2 c. peanut flour
2 T. brown sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ground ginger
1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
1 1/2 c. fat free milk
1/2 c. canned pumpkin
1 egg
2 T. olive oil (you can also use canola oil)

In large bowl, combine the first eight ingredients. In small bowl, combine the milk, pumpkin, egg, and oil; stir into dry ingredients just into moistened. Pour batter by 1/4 cupfuls onto hot griddle coated with cooking spray; turn when bubbles form on top. Cook until second side is golden brown.

 

I think there is someone who may want in on the pancake action too!

 

Now that I have had a hearty breakfast, I am going to work out and then Corey and I are going apple picking. I love this time of year! 🙂

 

7 responses to “Sunday Breakfast

  1. I love the picture of Callie in the background!

  2. Pingback: Reunited, and it feels so good |

  3. Pingback: Day of Rest |

  4. Pingback: My Day Off |

  5. Pingback: A lot of wasted food |

  6. Pingback: Cardio Boredom |

  7. Pingback: Losing weight the cold way |

Leave a comment